We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful in selecting rooms at this below average Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The lobby and restaurants earn a passing grade but the hotel is old. The north tower is newer but I did not get a room there so this review concerns the older south tower. The corridors are small with ceilings low enough to touch the cheap suspended ceiling tiles. The rooms facing the street are smaller than those facing the river. The decor is dark and dingy. Avoid the lower street side rooms or end up on the third floor overlooking large HVAC and other equipment on the roof of the lobby. The bathrooms are tiny and not well lit. Ask for a room overlooking the Cape Fear River. Great views including the USS North Carolina. This hotel has no bar service until 4 pm. when Ruth Chris opens. The plus is the easy access to the boardwalk and the quaint downtown of Wilmington. Unless you want to be on the river, I suggest selecting another hotel in Wilmimton.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are desired and larger than the rooms facing the street. Avoid the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197,448,562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback.

It is true that one tower is newer than the other so when we renovated it was our goal that all rooms were completely redone to all be the same. Some rooms do have better views than others, however we always try to provide a great guest experience.

We appreciate the feedback and we will use it to make that experience better.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel has the Hilton name on it but thats about it! the rooms are outdated and in need of repair. I had to change rooms after the first night due to issues with the bathroom, a running toilet all night long, mold in the bathroom, and a shower head that did not work! I would have changed hotels except my conference was held there and it would have been very inconvient to go elsewhere. I did request another room the next morning and it was granted without issue. The rooms had a great view of the river. I will not plan to stay there again and will avoid the conference if it is held there again. By the way they charge you to park in their parking lot, $12 per day! Breakfast is expensive as well, $10.95 for continental style and $12.95 for a hot breakfast. If this is what Hilton has become then I will choose Marriott in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I were here for just one night for a seminar. It is an older Hilton with a view... if you are lucky. We were not so lucky! Check in was fast and the front desk people were friendly. I tried to get our room moved over to the other side of the hotel with the river view, but they were booked. Too bad, because our view was not pretty, even more so when it is rainy and dreary outside. The elevators are small so if you a claustrophobic consider that your warning :) They are super slow also. But hey, like I said, it is an older hotel and there is nothing wrong with older as I am getting there myself! The room was nice and the bed was super comfortable. The best part of the hotel stay STARBUCKS in the lobby!! Thank goodness because the room coffee just didn't do it. Be sure to take a walk along the river on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: If you want a river view book before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I was here for a conference. This is a great hotel location. Downtown is easy to walk to and the river is right there and is nice to look at. My room had an obstructed view of the river because of an AC unit on the roof below but it was still nice. My only complaint is that parking was way too expensive and the floor I was on had the one side smoking and the other non smoking. This defeats the purpose when the smoke comes under the door because of the air return pulling it in and then pumping it into the room. So, if you stay here and don't want to smell smoke be sure to ask to be placed far from the smoking rooms!

Room Tip: Get riverside as high up as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishandwassabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay.

We appreciate all your positive feedback and we will look into the issues you experienced with the smoke smell.

We hope you will come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Right downtown, close to historic district. Clean, good helpful staff and a good breakfast. Nice views. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms face the water and USS North Carolina Battle Ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here 1 night as part of a tour. Excellent location right on the waterfront. Our room overlooked the water and had a view of the battleship 'Carolina'. Beautiful linens and a very comfortable bed. We ate dinner and breakfast in the 'Innovations' cafe at the hotel. Both meals were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennywrenSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a nice-looking hotel situated on the beautiful Cape Fear River. It has promise, but it needs a great deal of work done. The rooms were very small (we could hardly turn around in ours, let alone find a spot for our suitcases). The bathroom tub was clogged and dirty. But the worst was the ancient AC. It rattled and banged all night and kept us awake until 5 AM. When we turned it off it got too hot. The next night we decided the best solution was to drink as much wine and beer as possible so we could sleep soundly without having the AC disturb us. The staff was great, especially at breakfast (which is not free, by the way). Would come back if the rooms were given a makeover.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler8005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £85 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing