We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good located at the river walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had fantastic weather, so we could just walk to a number of restaurants in the evening at the river walk in Wilmington. We were very happy with the the hotel indeed. The room was very clean and spacious and so was the bath. We wanted to explore the historic sights and the hotel was perfectly situated for that, you have the beautiful historic houses and churches within a walking distance.

After sightseeing, we decided to go the beach, so the Wrighville beach was at about 15 -20 minutes away by car. The beach is really beautifull and we stayed there for a couple of afternoons
Staying at the Hilton is a perfect combination for a holiday for exploring historic landmarks combined with a fantastic beach nearby, beach during the day or an afternoon and a nice dinner at the riverwalk at one of the very nice restaurants. Maybe you just want to stay at the hotel in the evening and there is a nice bar at the Ruths or you can dine at the steak house by Ruths (both good).

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kauniit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for such a great review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities Wilmington has to offer. It is a wonderful town to visit.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return soon.

Have a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My experience with Mrs Ericia on the phone I called and she was very helpful and took the time to explain everything to me , her tone was very sweet and professional, she made sure I was satisflied with everything not only that it was just the compassion she showed towards me , and she went that extra mile , friendly service and she took her time , if you need a place to stay ask for Ericia you will get a friendly voice on the phone how I know because she helped me, thank you and I hope the management here knows that you set the tone at the Hilton because it's your friendly smile and your helpfulness that makes me want to come back and tell my friends about a nice lady name Ericia that works at the Hilton riverside in Wilmington N. C Thank you Mrs woods

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

What a wonderful review. Thank you for your stay and taking the time to post your positive experience. We will be sure to forward your comments onto Erica. We hope to see you again soon.

Have a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

location great . rooms comfortable...only problem? toilet seats! first room very loose, second room completely broken off. we did tell front desk but was leaving next day so didnt insist on repair that night. overall a good stay but hotel seems in need of some TLC

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and response.

I appreciate your feedback on the toilet seats and we will have engineering address it immediately.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The poor customer service started immediately at check-in. The front desk clerk lied to us when we asked about the parking options both in and around our hotel. We asked about the self-park lot accross the street. She told us it was the same price as the Hilton's $9.00 per day. It was actually half the price! When we asked her about a resturaunt she said I'd need to speak with the Concierge. Only she had left for the day. Later in the day we wanted to have a cocktail and sit outside on the patio. The Director of Sales told us the resturant would open at 5:30. At 6:25 it was still closed and no staff was present. These are only a few of the area's that plague this hotel and their lack of knowledgable staff. As a Hilton Gold member I expect better!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily196645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay.

I was disappointed to hear of your experience. We pride ourselves on our service and your experience is not typical.

I think there may have been a misunderstanding on the parking- as the lot across the street charges by the hour and our parking covers the 24 hour period. So I apologize for that. We should also be able to give you suggestions for restaurants or whatever you may need.

As for the restaurant, I will forward your comments to our Food and Beverage Director- your requests should have been accommodated.

Once again I apologize. We try to give everyone a great experience and when we do not, we appreciate the feedback. I hope you will return so we can show you a much more positive stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great location, with a Ruth Chris steak house in the hotel. You step out and you are on a river walk boardwalk. walk to shops and dining. Easy for retires to walk, relax, and savor the flavor of the South.

Room Tip: not a brand new renovated hotel, although the location over rides being too picky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationclub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your stay!

We are so glad you enjoyed it. We are so proud of our location and view. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside for a family wedding, which also happened to be the same weekend as the River Festival.

The hotel is in a great location if you plan to do a lot within the downtown area. We actually were able to walk to the church and reception venue from the hotel. Also, the River Festival is on the same street as the hotel, so guests can easily partake in the festivities, and there is a boardwalk behind the hotel that takes you along the river, which allows for pleasant walks in the afternoon or evening.

The room was average, but it was clean and comfortable. Though, since the hotel is right by the water, there is a salty smell within the hotel. I did not get a chance to interact with hotel staff much because the hotel was plenty busy with River Festival guests. However, I did not have any problems with my room or stay that would have caused me to contact hotel staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for visiting us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Riverfest is great and I hope you enjoyed the wedding.
We love the pictures you posted. Now you just need to come back for Azalea Festival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The lobby and restaurants earn a passing grade but the hotel is old. The north tower is newer but I did not get a room there so this review concerns the older south tower. The corridors are small with ceilings low enough to touch the cheap suspended ceiling tiles. The rooms facing the street are smaller than those facing the river. The decor is dark and dingy. Avoid the lower street side rooms or end up on the third floor overlooking large HVAC and other equipment on the roof of the lobby. The bathrooms are tiny and not well lit. Ask for a room overlooking the Cape Fear River. Great views including the USS North Carolina. This hotel has no bar service until 4 pm. when Ruth Chris opens. The plus is the easy access to the boardwalk and the quaint downtown of Wilmington. Unless you want to be on the river, I suggest selecting another hotel in Wilmimton.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are desired and larger than the rooms facing the street. Avoid the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197,448,562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback.

It is true that one tower is newer than the other so when we renovated it was our goal that all rooms were completely redone to all be the same. Some rooms do have better views than others, however we always try to provide a great guest experience.

We appreciate the feedback and we will use it to make that experience better.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £107 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing