We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately your only option for downtown accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Cary, United States
1 review
“Unfortunately your only option for downtown accomodations”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff is nice, but the hotel is terrible. They waited at least 10-15 years too long before "upgrading" the hotel. But the upgrades are like putting lipstick on a pig, it only dresses it up so much. There are still holes in the walls and poorly mended cracks in the ceiling. They have newly tiled showers, but then kept the original crumbled soap holder that was shoddily glued back together. They have a convenience store, but don't get too exited because it's not going to have what you need and what they do have costs more than if you bought the items at an airport! It's a perfect location, it's downtown, on the river and if you have to do business downtown, it's your only option for accommodations (until they finish with the Courtyard Marriott).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    392
    300
    159
    77
See reviews for
247
415
39
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamlet, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recomment this Hilton to anybody who want a great place to stay while in Wilmington. I enjoyed, and the service was wonderful for me and our company. Everything has been so great until you require me to post my review with minimum 200 characters! I am just going to stop at this, and if that is not enough , tough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maheshkumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your business! Glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iron Station, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great stay. Love the location. Staff helped the conference flow well. Impressed with their professionalism and friendliness. Comfortable beds. A BIG SHOUT OUT to the Chef(s) and servers. The food was delicious. Definately recommend the Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you! I will relay your shot out and we are so glad you had a great experience. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was a very nice hotel. The staff was polite and helpful. Had breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good. The bed was VERY comfortable, one of the best hotel beds I ever slept in. Only negative about the room is the bathroom is a little cramped. Enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for coming and thank you for sharing your great experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Attended a work conference at the Hilton Riverside. The room was great, thermarest mattress made for a good nights sleep! The workout facility has fantastic precor machines! Breakfast was okay. I would recommend walking a couple blocks to check out the local restaurants. The Cotton Exchange is directly across the street. Lots of sites to see and within walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Wilmington.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDoyle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
What a great review. Thank you and come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Minute one, huge breath choking stench of chemical cleaner the minute you open the door. Super toxic. Put air on high, no windows can open. leave door open to air out. Minute five, no picture on the tv, just sounds. Minute six, light in lamp doesn't work. Minute ten, pounding on walls due to construction. Change rooms. Minute 15, shower faucet handle in new room is stripped, water won't turn off. Drain in sink won't drain properly either. Call maintenance. Plumbers now in my room and I've only been in this hotel mere minutes. Next morning. 7:55 AM Pounding on wall from other room so intense my ENTIRE MATTRESS IS MOVING from the wall being hit with some blunt object behind me. WTF??? Very nice, helpful staff, but jesus, this place is a joke. The light fixtures are third world. Green light coming from florescent bulbs. This isn't energy saving, it's just cheap and ugly as hell. Stay elsewhere, really. So many lovely privately owned hotels and B&Bs in the neighborhood. This place is kind of gross, clean but second rate. Hilton should be ashamed to put it's name on it. Again, super lovely staff. Bad hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. I apologize for the issues you encountered. This is not typical for our property, so when guest's have an experience like this, we are appreciative that you bring it to our attention. I will address your comments with our team and I hope you will return soon to see we are capable of so much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pintetops, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Located next to the water front with vies of the Battleship. The parking is excellent and the hotel has easy access to all downtown has to offer. Very close to some great beach spots as well. Make sure you check out Front Street Brewery while you're there. Cant' find more friendly service or better accommadations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for a great review, We are so glad you had a great stay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing