We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a racket!!! High Price for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
“What a racket!!! High Price for what you get!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Cons:
Had to pay $9 to park for less than 12 hours. Called Hilton when I got home to ask what the extra charge was and was told they don't own the parking lots (wonder how a hotel can be built but not own any parking; think the lady was lying to me cause she knows its a racket for them to make an extra $10 on every room!); she commented everyone pays to park downtown like it was no biggie but for someone paying as much as they are for the hotel room, I don't understand why there is a fee to park (we are not talking fine parking here either...completely exposed to the elements in an open parking lot...and if you want valet you are paying way more). Just because they are on the water doesn't make it nice... outside has pretty awful smell like sewer! This Hilton is up for a makeover... rooms looked dirty and grundgy, not enough lighting to put on make up in room or even in bathroom (think they do this so you can't see how bad the rooms look), check-out is at 12 and staff is beating on your doors at 10 AM (I was trying to sleep in since had taken a trip with just my hubby and have 5 small kids at home and we never get to sleep in), NO continental breakfast (as much as you pay for this hotel, something should be included), elevators act like they are going to break down at any second, & the food is subpar as well as service (attended a banquet which was a buffet and drink was never refilled... not even once...actually had to do myself on 2 different occasions and they waited til food ran completely out before they even brought any more).

Pros: great location if wanting to go to downtown shops and bars (little walking distance to each) and beds were pretty comfy (have down comforters on them so if hot natured, you may not like the bedspreads).

I'm a bit of a hotel snob and really like nice places to stay in when I travel and while location was great, this one is way overpriced for amenities of the hotel... needs a revamping for sure. You would think they could use all the money they make off the parking fees to do that!!!

Room Tip: We were on the very end near the fire exit; however, don't remember hearing a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do own the lots adjacent to our property and our parking rates are $9 per night per vehicle for self-parking or $12 for valet; we're very sorry someone explained parking differently. We list our parking rates on our property's home page, our reservationists explain them to our guests over the phone and they are displayed on a sign to the right as you enter our property. Our rooms were fully renovated in 2007 and include eco-friendly light bulbs that brighten gradually after their initial turn “on.” We do not have a continental breakfast but we do offer a full, hot breakfast buffet; made-to-order breakfast compilations on our restaurant menu; or the option to have your breakfast delivered directly to you in bed via room service. Continental breakfasts are typically offered through hotels that do not have full restaurants, but we have two on property! Thank you again for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    392
    300
    159
    77
See reviews for
247
415
39
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were able to hear all other guest, the guest next door snored, while the guest on the other side were talking most of the night about their dog. The room smelled in the morning it was a rancid odor. We did not report anything upon check-out, as I felt very rushed along by the staff at that time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear you could hear the other guests around you during your stay with us and that you felt rushed at check out. It is never our intention to rush our guests. We would actually like you to stay as long as possible! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Since we travel a lot for the my husband's work, we have stayed in MANY different hotels. My husband and I are very particular and are willing to pay a little more than average for a "better" hotel. When we walked in the hotel and entered elevators, it was obvious that the hotel/facility was less than we generally liked. When we exited the elevator on to the 3rd floor, the smell of cigarettes was overwhelming-this only increased as the evening went on. I have asthma and am allergic to cigarette smoke. Having to hold my breath in order to walk to my room was uncalled for. Our room also had a strong old cigarette smell like stale cigarette smoke. We were very disappointed with the paint chipping, wall paper peeling, tub not draining, lights barely bright enough to put on make-up by, rough, cheap toilet paper, noise of doors slamming from other rooms, the view from our room, lack of fridge/microwave, and really, just the overall fact that the trim, walls, etc seemed like the room had not been updated in YEARS. It honestly reminded me of a room someone would pay $39.95 a night for. Then there's the whole aspect of breakfast, one would assume for the price of the room (over $200) you would at least receive a continental breakfast-almost all competitors do. This was a night away, Valentine's night, my husband planned for me-the first time he has not asked me to assist with the planning. He planned a very nice evening, down to the very last detail, but all night could not forgive himself for picking the room he did! I can honestly say, with this experience, I will not be using a Hilton hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us on Valentine's Day. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Our rates do vary based on availability and being a holiday weekend, we had very little availability and therefore higher rates. Our hotel had a full room renovation about 7 years ago, and we’ve been working diligently over the slow season on preventative maintenance to give the rooms the extra TLC they’ll need before our warm weather returns. Our property does not have a continental breakfast, but we do offer a full, hot breakfast buffet; made-to-order breakfast compilations on our restaurant menu; or the option to have your breakfast delivered directly to you in bed via room service! Thank you again for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary NC, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great place to stay overlooking USS North Carolina in a river view room. All the restaurants around the hotel are wonderful - each n everyone. Hotel is pleasant, very professional staff, feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We're delighted you had such a great time and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We like to stay at this property due to it's close proximity to town. It's wonderful to walk along the waterfront or to dinner - everything is nearby. However the last two stays - we've experienced problems with the TV signal. Major channels (like NBC) do not come in clearly or at all at times. We've stayed at other nearby properties and never experinced the same - so we have to believe it's the hotel equipment. The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom in the room we stayed in was old, in poor condition and definately needed some TLC. It was clean but dated and not what you would expect at a Hilton. Other rooms have been OK in the past so maybe we just had bad luck this go around. The heating/ac unit takes up a good portion of the wall near the seating area and was noisy. It worked well though and kept the room at a comfortable temperature during our stay. The staff is polite and helpful - however parking is $9 - even if you self park which seems ridiculous for off season. We are travelling again in a month and will look at other nearby options at better price and value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank dcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your helpful feedback! Occasionally a TV will experience a problem with NBC/ABC reception but we have a simple tool to fix it when we know where it is occuring. We do hope you chose to stay with us again. We greatly value our guests and are confident you will find our price competitive with nearby accommodations and parking but our hospitality unparalleled in the Downtown Wilmington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I attended the NC Jazz Festival at the Hilton, Wilmington, NC. It was a wonderful experience and the hotel did an amazing job not only hosting the festival but with the brunch on Saturday morning and the set ups for Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. The overall service and accommodations were great. Highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for you wonderful response regarding your recent stay! We love the Jazz Festival and are thrilled to be the host hotel for the event every year. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to seeing you again for the next Jazz Fest, or even sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Southern charm of Wilmington NC, is spoiled by the standards of the Towns only sizeable hotel. At a distance everything looks neat and tidy; however the rooms and facilities are tired and out of date with worn furnishings and moldy tiles around the baths. If you need a central location in Wilmington and the Best Western is full its worth suffering for a night as the beds are very good! I have been staying here for 2 years and have staying in many rooms and I can assure you the problems are not isolated. I pray for the day it gets upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicol Macdonald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing