We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riverview Suites(Wilmington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Wilmingtonian(Wilmington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carolinian Inn(Wilmington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,497 results
Traveller rating
440
453
338
179
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
453
338
179
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverruth's christhe cape fear rivercotton exchangeself parkingthe uss north carolinawalking distancedowntown areafront desk staffhotel is in a great locationconvention centerhistoric districtfront streetstaff was friendlybattleshipconferencevalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,497 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I got a double bed room with a view of the water. Great location to everything downtown has to offer. Hotel could use an upgrade. I really wish they would have refrigerators in all the rooms as well. You can call down for one, but we were put on a waiting list and never got it. Disappointing when you have left over food to keep cold.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions regarding our rooms and will keep them in mind when planning for our property's future! We hope to see you in Wilmington soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great hotel and amenities. Conveniently located to everything in town. Breakfast could have been more varied (bagels, halfcaf coffee, more egg dishes etc). Overall, the experience was quite pleasant and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for the great comments about your stay! We forwarded your breakfast suggestions to our new chef for advisement. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel has a great location in downtown Wilmington and is within walking distance of excellent restaurants, bars, and other entertainment venues. The view of the Battleship North Carolina is spectacular, and the rooms comfortable and roomy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and city! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Chose this hotel because a block of rooms at a special rate was offered for a friend's wedding. I wanted to be in on all the "other" family activities, so decided to stay here. So glad I did. The accomodations were great! so close to EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are right in the middle of all the bustling Historic District activities, so you picked the perfect place to stay. We hope to see you again on future visits to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We we're in town for a half marathon race and this location was not convenient but we thought it would be nice to stay on the riverfront. The riverfront area is nice with many historic buildings, lots of restaurants and a quaint atmosphere. The hotel was just average. It was clean. The bathrooms were small and the rooms were also small. When we made reservations we didn't realize we would have our two kids with us. When we checked in was asked for a change to two queens instead of a king but there were none available. We got a rollaway bed but there is simply no room for the entire bed frame so we took off the mattress and put it on the floor. It worked but one kid still had to sleep on the floor. The room temp vascilated between hot and cold and it was uncomfortable all night. The valet parking in the morning took about 10 mins to get the car. Not a bad hotel but would choose something different on our next trip and just drive to the riverfront.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Carync6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay! We're very sorry we did not have two doubles available at check-in, but are glad you enjoyed your marathon weekend in Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews