We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Average but fine”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nothing special about this Hilton which was busy with conventions and meetings during our two night stay. However, good location for tourists like us and clean comfortable accommodations and we had a river view. Room a little shabby in places (wardrobe doors especially) and missing safe (did offer to relocate us to another room but we locked valuables in the suitcases) but fine for sleeping and showering. Staff friendly generally but breakfast wait staff need a pep talk on customer interaction - a few a little fierce and scary and breakfast itself was not terribly impressive. Not sure why they need to charge for car parking in the hotel grounds, other Hiltons we used on this trip had complimentary car parking.

Ruth's Chris steakhouse in the hotel was a plus feature and we had a very good meal there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We greatly appreciate your endorsement of our location and clean, comfortable guest rooms. We're very disappointed to hear you had a poor experience at breakfast and will amend the problems you mentioned immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Wilmington and take note of our positive adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    401
    309
    165
    80
See reviews for
256
422
40
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

When my boyfriend and I checked in and told we had a room with 2 doubles instead of king bed, I asked for a room change. We were told they were sold out due to high school prom being held there that weekend. View from room was beautiful but having to rearrange furniture to push 2 beds together was a pain. Also, for over $200/night, I expect there not to be mold in the shower and tub surround. It was disgusting. Add that to the missing light cap in shower, so just a bare bulb hanging about a running shower = huge fire and safety hazard. One stray water droplet and we could have been covered in sparks or electrocuted. Ask for a room change; again, be told they are sold out. I will give points for great location and the fact that our room overlooked the River. But again, for the kind of money they are charging per night, I expect a clean and safe room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catawissa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a poor experience with the quality/cleanliness of the room. Didn't think it was worth $200/night to sleep in a room that was not clean (boots from previous guest were still under the edge of our bed!) didn't have a mini fridge and charges an arm/leg for coffee in the morning. Muffins or fruit would be nice when paying that much! We had to ASK someone to help us with a cart to take our luggage to the room even though there were several staff members on the curb when we were unloading. Had it not been our daughters wedding, we definitely would have stayed elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, and we're very disappointed you did not enjoy your weekend. We strive for a personalized experience for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience, but we do take cleanliness very seriously and will review your comments with our Executive Team. We do provide complimentary coffee to our guests in all of our sleeping rooms, while Currents Cafe in the lobby provides Starbucks beverages and snacks at a comparable price for the quality. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that will help us improve the experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

They were sold out when I originally tried to book this stay, however the day I got to Wilmington I asked the Hampton Inn I was at to please check on availability. They had a room available and it was river view room! The check in was seamless. I loved the view from my roomo overlooking the river. The sunrise and sunsets were amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MooreMusick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you kindly for another great review of your stay at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We're so glad to hear we were able to secure a room for you, and thankful you checked back with us when you arrived to Wilmington. We strive for unparalleled views and hospitality in the Wilmington area, and are eager to continually provide you with both. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times over the years. We even housed our wedding party and guests here when we were married on the river walk. The hotel staff is friendly and competent. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool area is nice.
We love the location! It's nice to be able to walk downtown.
The only complaint we have ever had is that the bar has been understaffed several times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GboroMomGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and repeat patronage at our riverfront Hilton. We're honored to have been a stage for some of your important life events and hope to continue to welcome you back as one of our most valued guests. We do have two full-time bars on property, as well as our seasonal pool bar along the Cape Fear, but will certainly discuss your comments in our Executive Team meetings to make sure we are providing the best experience for our guests. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This Hilton is in a perfect location for walking to many of Wilmington's hot spots and historical entities and the river walk is extraordinary for a water boardwalk. The hotel is immaculate, as usual, and offers river or historical views. The staff is very amenable and know what to recommend to visitors. I especially enjoyed Kye Gardner in the early morning. After a long night shift, he engaged in a fascinating conversation about the area. Kye and staff here are positive ambassadors for the Hilton.

Room Tip: River view is nice, but over the historical area is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonDon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for commending us on our high standards at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside! Not only do we provide an exemplary product, we make sure the people taking care of our guests are Superstars like Kye. A perfect room with perfect ambiance still wouldn't deserve a "WOW!" without a smiling, accommodating and personable young lady or gentleman to welcome you to the Wilmington area. Thank you for your kind recognition. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived on Wednesday to find a very friendly and helpful staff. I checked in to a very nice top floor room with a large comfortable bed. Room was awesome, clean and very comfortable. I was on site for a conference taking place at the hotel. All amenities were well above average.

Location, location, location this place right on the edge of all the riverfront has to offer. Great views, food, drink and fun.

Room Tip: Try to book with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the service you received at check-in to the quality of your room and our amenities! It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to have the opportunity to do so again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
149 reviews
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing