We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location right downtown for shopping and restaurants. Easy for us to get to the places in the area we were going to. Enjoyed the view and parking was easy (we used valet but non-valet was easy too). Will stay there again if the situation warrants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JrryKhls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    377
    288
    155
    74
See reviews for
238
401
38
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 for a half business, half personal visit. We were impressed and would definitely stay here again if visiting Wilmington.

The location is faultless; the hotel is right on the riverside, and the entire downtown area of Wilmington is walkable. Views from the room are either of downtown, or of the river and the Battleship - we had the latter, which was very impressive! (but the outside of the window could have done with a clean).

The hotel is not new, however the interior has been refurbished to current Hilton standards - expect standard chain hotel decor and you're not far wrong. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The corridors felt a little dingy but it was just the lighting. The rooms have very large windows so they feel light and airy.

Due to the time of the year we did not make use of the outside facilities but there is a small pool and an area with sun-loungers etc. In reception there's also a small convenience store and coffee shop which came in handy when we got stranded in Wilmington due to the unexpected snow!

Throughout the whole stay, the one thing we couldn't fault was the service - the staff here are truly excellent and made us feel welcome. They were also extremely accommodating when we needed to extend our stay, and worked hard during a power failure, providing coffee and hot drinks to guests when we all grouped together in the lobby.

We had a very pleasant visit to Wilmington and I am sure we will return in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very friendly staff from the valets to the people at the front desk. Clean rooms nice pool to relax. Some sight seeing around the area and plenty of places to eat. Would recommend it for a place to stay when travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. You wont be disappointed and will have a view of the battleship across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for one night over the Fourth of July weekend and had a lovely time. The staff was friendly when we asked to check in early and also provided a lot of helpful sightseeing tips for the area. The room itself was pretty typical for the Hilton brand, although the tub seemed to be a bit dated. The rest of the room and hotel were nice, though. Also, we had a room on the top floor with a view of the river--so pretty! Being a Hilton Honors member we received free breakfast in the morning. It was delicious and provided more variety than most hotels. They even had homemade granola and cheese blintzes. Yum!

Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

I do have one travel tip. We were visiting with two kids in strollers and were told the closest door to our room was on the right of the building. She also mentioned we would have to climb a few stairs, but I didn't realize it would be two flights! That made it a bit tricky. If we had parked on the left of the building, we could have entered on the ground floor (by the pool) and used a different elevator to go all the way up to our floor. It would have been a little more walking, but at least no stairs.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of bags or kids, ask for something on the left side of the building so you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smkozlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deer park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

the hotel riverside wilmington has the best customer service of all the hiltons i have ever stayed. the hotel is showing its age though. they need to be careful with 2 new hotels opening in the past year with cheaper rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for praising our customer service and we'll certainly keep your suggestions in mind when planning for the future of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The property needs a major over-hall as well as staff training! We were never welcomed as an Honors member and to get helpful information it was like pulling teeth. We did not find out there was a free hotel van until we saw others using it. Hurricane Arthur was due to hit and we had an elderly mother with us with oxygen and we were never kept abreast of an type of emergency information. The power went out frequently and we were not even offered flashlights in the event of generator failure. I feel the staff was unfriendly and did not seem to care about our comfort as they directed our group to a sidewalk in front of the hotel to catch a free trolley. We had our mother with oxygen and a walker and I found this very uncaring to not have alerted us to the van availability. The bellman were the only ones that appeared to be competent and welcoming.Find an alternative!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Wilmington Riverside. We're very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We do have a complimentary shuttle van to and from the Wilmington International Airport for our guests. Under normal circumstances, it will also take guests to nearby downtown locations at their convenience. Unfortunately, due to the adverse weather conditions we were experiencing during Hurricane Arthur, we decided to suspend shuttle service for the safety of our guests and team members. We did make a few exceptions for guests who were already out in the weather and needed to return safely to the hotel. Fortunately we never lost power during the storm, but had boxes of flashlights ready to assist guests to our ground floor where we have generator power. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we can show you how much your satisfaction truly matters to us. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The only positive this hotel had was it's convenient location to the riverfront and the downtown area. Other than that it was terrible. Our room was dirty, the bed was awful and the bathroom was tiny and gross. The staff was rude and useless. We got here late on a Wednesday night and were stuck inside all day Thursday due to Hurricane Arthur. Friday (4th of July) we woke up and our room was 80 and it was set at 68. We called down & they said they would send someone up, so we went for breakfast in the hotel, which was a wasted $14. The roof was dripping on us and the table and chairs were disgusting. The waitress gave us a card to fill out if we wanted eggs or an omelet but never took it. We returned to our room around 2:30 and our room was still about 78 so we called AGAIN so the next guys that came up said the motor overheated and needed to be replaced. Ok? We leave again and come back and they're gone but the room is STILL at 78 and now it smells of oil. We call AGAIN and she says she can put us in another room. We move and she calls and says "just wanted to check if you were happy and if you were done in the first room because we are putting people in it" we said "well no we aren't happy but yes were done" she says "OK THANKS!" So no you weren't checking if we were happy you just wanted to put some poor people in that disgusting room. The ONLY reason they mildly redeemed themselves and got a second star (first for location) is the manager when we were checking out was much more sympathetic the next morning. If it wasn't 4th of July weekend AND a hurricane, we would've been out of there. This will be our last stay at a Hilton.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing