We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic End to Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
“A Fantastic End to Summer”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this facility during the Labor Day Weekend. We were warmly welcomed by Daniel at the front desk upon arrival. He was courteous, professional, and humorous. After a long ride it was nice to see a place that had a feel of home. Our room was very clean and decorated with a modern decor. The bed was the most comfortable one my wife and I slept on in any place of lodging. One thing that I liked in the room was it had a thermostat to control the AC. In most places it just continuously runs and you freeze,or to warm never comfortable, but it was just another example of making it feel like home to me. The breakfast was good, one day eggs and sausage, the next day eggs and bacon, the next day biscuits and gravy, however the coffee is the only low point of the stay. Not to good! The staff was warm and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay memorable. It was close to the beach and plenty of dining areas.One thing that I commend the management team on is that they hired people with disability's. The housekeeper on our floor was hearing impaired but seemed very dedicated to doing her job there. Not many employers would have given her a chance, but I am glad to see they did. Thank You for everything and we will see you next time we are in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwightda2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    150
    52
    13
    4
See reviews for
155
100
21
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent three nights over Labor Day weekend at the hotel. I thought $119 per night price was very good, considering it was a summer holiday weekend and the hotel was within a few miles of the beach. The hotel was clean and the room suitable, but the beds were awful. Both beds in our room had craters in them from wear which made them uncomfortable. The breakfast was the typical hotel lobby fare (nothing special) and our card keys would not work on any of the side doors to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SheddVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Convenient, close to beach, cheap. Good breakfast. Lackluster service at best. Pool with outdoor areas to sun bathe. Gift shop. Five miles away from the beach and other local attractions. Comfortable king sides beds with plus pillows and located right off main drag and easy to find.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjgibson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was concerned about the quality of the Fairfield Inn & Suites (Wilmington, NC) because it was within traveling distance of the beach. I stayed the last week of July 2013 and found no problems or issues what would cause me not to return.

The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. My room was a king, with a pull out couch (I didn't need the pull out option) and the room had some room to stretch out. It was a comforting place to relax after work. I used the fitness facilities and there were two tread mills and one elliptical machine in room. There was also a working TV for the dedicated long-distance tread mill user.

The breakfast was adequate and no complaints from me. All four mornings, there were scrambled eggs and a meat (day 1 sausage, day 2 bacon, day 3 ham, day 4 bacon). There were plenty of fresh fruits, fruit cups, milk, oat meal, waffles, etc. Oh yeah, don't forget the coffee - plenty of coffee! The morning staff was very friendly and welcoming. Also, you could pick up USA Today or the Wall Street Journal to read.

My room was clean and the HVAC worked very well. I would recommend to others, depending on your needs or season, the HVAC control can be set for FAN always ON or FAN/Automatic (that's means the fan just runs when the unit is heating or cooling). The mattress was a little too soft and maybe getting to the end of it's life cycle. However, that wasn't a major problem and I still slept very well.

I stayed on the 3rd floor and the elevators were always in service with no odd noises. There always seemed to be a staff member visible ensuring the building was constantly being maintained.

I appreciated using the Fairfield Inn for this particular business trip and I would gladly use them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratboy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Greetings,

Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you in person on your next visit.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUNTA GORDA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Overall, this hotel is very good; however, little things can get irritating. The décor is attractive, both in the rooms and the lobby. It was the busy 4th of July weekend, which may have caused the little problems, as the hotel was fully booked. Our room keys usually didn't work and we had to go back to the lobby several times to get rekeyed when we returned to our room. We weren't the only ones with this problem. We stayed several days and every evening we would return and look to see what the housekeeping house didn't do, i.e. no coffee packets, no replacement cups and glasses, etc. If they got one thing right, they would forget another. Why can't they have checklists for the people to ensure the room is complete? The breakfast buffet was very nice and had a good selection, but they do not have enough tables for a crowd and we had to take our breakfast back to the room on two occasions. Would recommend more tables be added. People were not happy to have no where to sit. Suggest you skip this hotel at peak periods.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acry-artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to fill out a survey it is through comments like yours we can improve. I have shared your comments with our staff and we will strive to be more consistent even on a busy sold out holiday weekend.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites for a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised with what a great place it was! The lobby area is modern looking and well-appointed, even with an "office" area with computers. The dining room was lovely, with a fireplace, nice seating, and numerous items (including waffles) on the breakfast fare. Our room was clean and the furnishings were nice. The location between the beaches and the historic area worked out great for us. It is a real little jewel for travelers seeking a nice place to stay without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASPSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Greetings,

Thaks for the kind words. Our people make all the difference in the world. We do care for our guests like no others in Wilmington.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were greeted by friendly helpful staff who welcomed us after an long 8+ hour drive. At first appearance it looks like a great place to stay . Once in our room I sat on the bed only to roll into a deep depression made in an very over used mattress. The shower curtain had mold on it and a very long hair awaited us in the bathroom sink. The free breakfast is average at best. I found this hotel to be below average with well above average staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnqday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to fill out a survey; it's through comments like yours we can improve. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service in Wilmington and will continue to do so. I have shared your comments with the team and we will pay attention to details, a clean room and a comfortable bed to rest are a must.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 307 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1813
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott. We strive to provide our guests with all the comfort and class that one has a right to expect from Marriott hotels. Our reputation relies upon excellence in cleanliness and guest service. We offer guest rooms with either one King-sized bed or two Queen-sized beds in addition to spacious suites with separate living, working, and sleeping areas. All rooms have 32” flat-screen televisions and the suites have i-Home music systems, mini-refrigerators, and microwave ovens. Every morning begins with our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—featuring Jimmy Dean Breakfast Sandwiches, fresh coffee, and a variety of food/beverage options. When it comes to business travel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington will always afford you an easy, comfortable trip. Our amenities are geared towards ensuring a world-class stay. Here’s how:Be Productive• Large, well-lit work area• Ergonomic desk & chair• Free wired and wireless Internet services• Free local phone calls• Business center with fax & copy service Be Comfortable• Complimentary 24-hour coffee & tea• Vending machines and Lobby Market offering snacks & beverages• Heated Indoor Pool and 24-hour Fitness Center• Same-day dry cleaning service• Individual room temperature control• In-room coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, & ironing board• Committed to a smoke-free policy• Conveniently located only minutes from the Wilmington International Airport, Wrightsville Beach, and Historic Downtown Wilmington.• The closest Marriott hotel to the University of North Carolina Wilmington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
Fairfield Inn Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing