We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find near the river”
Review of Front Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Front Street Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This was our second stay at the Front Street Inn. My 86 year-old mother and I have selected the Taverna Suite on both occasions. First floor, ramp access with a walk-in shower. Really neat decor and two beds - something hard to find in a bed and breakfast. Richard and Polly were able to accommodate my mom's gluten-free needs at breakfast, are a joy to know and so very helpful and kind. Small fridge in the room made it nice to store meds and leftovers from dinner. Convenient location for dining and shopping. The Taverna Suite is on the back side away from the road with it's own shady porch. We love it there!!

Room Tip: Taverna Suite is nice for less mobile travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

We just spent a weekend in Wilmington to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and stayed at this wonderful Inn. We stayed in the Hemingway Suite which I would recommend for privacy as you can access it from an outside staircase (so you don't have to walk through the Inn if you're coming in from a late night!) and it has it's own private balcony across the entire front of the building. The plus of the balcony is it gives you a great private place to relax (and people watch!!) but the downside of facing the front of the building is that you do hear some street noise (cars and people) at night...and this is the only reason that we gave it 4 stars instead of 5...the noise was certainly not overbearing but worth mentioning as we were awakened a couple of times because of it. The accommodations were very comfortable and VERY clean. Nice big king size bed with a VERY firm mattress. My husband has a bad back and he loved the mattress...I prefer a "squishier" mattress...to each his own...it was still a comfortable night's sleep. The bathroom was a nice size with a nice big jacuzzi tub...which we loved...although it was a little difficult to get into...it's a big step up and over so we had to be careful...any toiletry you needed was also provided (shampoo, conditioner, soap, bath salts, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, etc). It's a very bright room as well. Fresh flowers at the entrance, nice little kitchenette with a fridge, nice little bistro table with chairs if you wished to have breakfast in your room, two adirondack chairs on the balcony, fireplace (which would be cozy in the winter but we weren't able to use it on this trip). I also have a down allergy and noticed on their website that some of their rooms have down comforters and/or pillows. So please call the inn and mention this to them prior to making your reservation so that they can advise you which rooms are "down free" and which are not. They were most accommodating in that regard and I appreciated that very much. The Inn itself is very quaint and very "homey" feeling. The owners are very sweet and friendly. Breakfast was delicious...not too much but not too little...fresh fruit, cereals, baked breads, muffins, bagels and a nice hot quiche as well as juices and coffee. And there are a number of places that you can eat it as well so that you don't have to sit at one big long table with everyone if that's not your thing. We liked that very much. The room was a bit pricey for what you got but what we quickly realized is that you are also paying for location, location, location. We parked the car on Friday morning and never got in it again until we left on Sunday afternoon. It was wonderful. And that in itself made the price bearable. All we had to do was cross the street and go down a set of stairs and we were at the Riverfront. There are SO many shops and restaurants that we didn't come close to visiting them all...so we will have to come back for sure!! It was just so nice to be so close to anything and everything there was to do in downtown and then walk back to our room whenever we wished. It's a great, quaint little town and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a very dog friendly town too which was great to see and great for you to know if you're traveling with your pets. We will definitely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone who asked. Thanks for such a great weekend!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian and Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Spent a weekend in Wilmington and wanted to try a B&B. We stayed in the Taverna Suite. The room was a nice size, but definitely not worth $250 a night. The bed in the room though beautiful is not comfortable at all. The bed was extremely hard, and every time one of us would move, the bed would squeak. That can be good for a man's self esteem during certain times :) but when trying to sleep it is not fun.

The location was very close to downtown; but the downside of that is a lot of street noise. This resulted in fun days, but long nights.

The staff; especially the owners are extremely friendly.

If we had to do it all over again, we would go stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in the Taverna Suite which I recommend for privacy. It has a private entrance in the back and is at ground level. It is very bright and updated with a two person shower. Overall we liked the Inn since it is more contemporary than many historic inns but we discovered that not all of the rooms were as updated as the Taverna so ask questions if you are particular.

The breakfast was adequate but we thought the coffee was weak. We did not take advantage of the honor system drinks since there are so many restaurants within walking distance.

The Inn is very clean and the parking lot is a plus.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dbrown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We arrived in Wilmington late and found the Front Street Inn by chance, and what a find. Beautiful buildings, lovely rooms, great breakfasts, very nice hosts and the location is perfect for walking in lovely Wilmington too. What more could you want? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I decided to take a quick trip to Wilmington as we have we heard wonderful reviews about the area. After checking out the 16 B&B's in the area, The Front Street Inn, was the only one that had a more modern feel. We stayed in the Bistro Suite which large and a huge spa tub. There was an additional exit to a balcony that over looked the garden area. Parking is a premium downtown and they Inn offers plenty of parking. The breakfast was made by Polly and the quiche was excellent both days. The breakfast in the sunroom made each morning a pleasant way to start off the day. Richard provided us with a map and suggestions for things to do in the area. If you want a modern feel and an excellent location, then the Front Street Inn, is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Bistro Suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasvegasll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Front Street Inn over a late March weekend and loved everything about the place. The owners are very friendly and helpful if you have any questions about things to do or restaurants in the area. The Inn is within walking distance of all the historic homes, the riverwalk, and all the best restaurants in town. We stayed in the Cabana room because I thought my wife would enjoy the jetted tub (which she very much did). Having wine and beer available at the downstairs bar on the honor system is a fun bonus. The breakfasts are not gourmet but certainly adequate. The coffee was surprisingly good. Altogether I recommend the place heartily as a fun getaway spot at a fantastic value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £105 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing