We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre place, better choices for the ocst”
Review of Front Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Front Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Stayed for a rainy weekend in Wilmington, so I might have been biased by the weather.

But we stayed in the Hemingway room, which was gigantic, but surprisingly dull. The decor was pretty spartan, though it did sport a huge bathtub and King size bed.

I have to agree with reviews of the breakfast. Served as a continental breakfast, it was disappointing, especially for the premium prices that the inn charges relative to other B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grinwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2008

We just returned from a lovely weekend getaway at the Front Street Inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, our suite was clean, comfortable and creatively decorated, and breakfast was delicious. Great location for walking around the waterfront or downtown as well. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank graphicsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We have nothing but great comments about the Front Street Inn. We arrived long before check in time but were graciously welcomed, given a great recommendation for lunch and parked our car and took off to enjoy the waterfront. We returned still early for check-in but the room was ready in just a few minutes. The help provided with our luggage was appreciated.

This inn is in a great location. We parked our car and walked for the two days we visited. We were in the Hemimngway suite which is the nicest in the Inn with a private balcony from which you can just glimpse the river and the North Carolina battleship. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed, The king size sleigh bed was not only attractive and draped with netting, but it was a most comfortable mattress. The two person jacuzzi was enjoyed after all day of walking. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed several conversations with them. Nice little touches like chocolate kisses on the nightstand table and little bowl of bath salt and comfy robes were added.

The breakfast the first day was a little disappointing with hard-
boiled eggs and packaged ham slices. However, those items and the sausage patties and sliced cheese had much more taste than the buffet we ate breakfast at the day before. We were pleasantly surprised to be served quiche for our second breakfast. I suspect if quiche or breakfast casseroles were served daily, reviews of breakfast fare would improve.

The inn itself is lovely. The honor system offers choices for refreshment. We have a list of destination and accomodations that we want to revisit. Historic Wilmington is a grand place to visit (did you know Wilmington is listed as one of the places to see in "1000 Places in Canada and the USA to see before you Die") and the Inn helped make our trip outstanding. It's a wonderful inn and we look forward to returning before too long..

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SNC-Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My husband & I just returned from our weekend getaway at the Front Street Inn, and the worst part about our weekend was having to leave! Our room (the Bistro Suite) was very spacious and romantic, and felt very selcuded. The bed was extremly comfortable (not to mention a lovely and interesting conversation piece); and the 2 person spa tub was excatly what we needed after 2 days of walking! I loved the convience of entering the room from outside of the Inn, and not having to worry about waking up all the guests after a late dinner & walk on Saturday night. The location was perfect ~ we parked our car on Friday when we arrived, and did not need it until Sunday morning when we were leaving! We throughly enjoyed our breakfast on the sun porch, which included a variety of cereals; a tasty fruit salad; muffins; breads; delicious quiche; juices; & coffee.

Richard & Polly (the owners) were very charming, and really enjoy what they do! Rob was awesome ~ thanks for the recommendations for dinner!

Needless to say, we feel in love with Wilmington, and with the Front Street Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We loved our recent stay at the Front Street Inn. I know that some of the reviews about this place have been bad, but we have only good things to say. The place was extremely clean and comfortable, and the location is so convenient to the Riverwalk and restaurants. We stayed in the Cabana Suite at the back of the Inn. We felt very secluded. The staff was very accommodating, and the food was so good. Despite what others have said, we say stay at this bed and breakfast! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patron48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Front Street Inn. It was a very enjoyable experience. We stayed in the bistro suite and very much enoyed the comfy bed and two person jacuzzi. Though the building is old, and maybe could use some updating here and there, the room was very clean, which is very important to me. The innkeepers were very accomodating and assisted me with planning a nice surprise visit for my husband. I had inquired about some chocolate covered strawberries - they were in the fridge when we checked into our room ( we did appreciate and make good use of the mini fridge in the room ). Also, we were able to arrange for massages - they have a room all set up downstairs for that purpose. I found the afternoon snacks to be a special touch- who doesnt like warm cookies? Also I couldnt disagree with the last review more. We had two very nice breakfasts. The first day a delicious quiche, fresh fruit, juices, assorted ( moist!) breads and muffins hard boiled eggs and on the second warm croissants, cheeses and meats, fresh fruit and always a variety of cereals and bagels for toasting. I found it to be just the right start for our day. The second day, I was even offered a tray to bring up breakfast to my ( Lazy!) husband, which was a very nice touch. There is a pool table in the basement, a treadmill and we even made use of a board game or two. Another nice touch was having a private outside entry to our room.You dont think about it, but it beats trudging through the whole building if you choose to be out late. In Downtown Wilmington, the location cant be beat. Offstreet parking was a plus. We never even used our car as everything was in walking distance for us. I would definately recommend the Front Street Inn. I have always enjoyed the coziness and romance of an inn over a regular hotel, but my husband sometimes finds them a little too much pomp and circumstance. This inn struck just the right chord for both of us. What a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We had arrived in Wilmington late with no reservations. We joked about staying at the Salvation Army hostel if we couldn't find a room. The Visitors Center was closed but there was a map outside with hotels, attractions, etc. listed. We picked the nearest hotel which happened to be the Front Street Inn and found it easily. What a lucky break! They had a room left, a suite in fact, the place looked charming so we booked in. The owner's son was extremely helpful, the suite was beautifully decorated and furnished, with a jacuzzi as well as a bathroom and very well appointed. The attention to detail was superb, the location great, the breakfast the healthiest we had all trip and to cap it all, we did stay at the Salvation Army hostel (the Inn has been converted from North Carolina's earliest SA building). An outstanding place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaldEagle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#22 of 45 in Wilmington
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £114 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Front Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Front Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing