We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of Front Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Front Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Wilmington and the Front Street Inn. Our most recent trip was during the first week of April when we traveled to ILM for the annual Azalea Festival. We stayed from Wed to Sun. The weather was a bit off for a day or two, but the weekend turned out to be beautiful!! As usual, we had a great time at the Front Street. The inn is as clean as ever and Richard & Polly treated us well. We parked on Wed and didn't move our car until we left on Sun. We always stay at the Front Street Inn and have never had a bad experience. In July we're spending a week on the Outter Banks but we've booked two nights in ILM for the holiday (Front Street Inn is a perfect location for watching the fireworks). When you're in Wilmington, be sure to have at least one meal at Circa 1922 (tapas, etc), dessert at Kilwins ice cream, and a bottle of wine to end the evening from the Wilmington Wine Shoppe down near the river...it doesn't get much better than that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVAtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2008

We chose the Front Street Inn from the pictures and discription on the internet. The room and Inn are not at all as depicted onlline. The decor was a mish mash mess. The room was way over priced for the yard sale type furnishings. There was a kitckenette with a stove but not even one pot or pan, plate or piece of silverware. Not even a trash can.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DPianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We have stayed in many bed and breakfast inns, and this is the only B&B we have ever stayed in where we had to pay for the wine when the "complimentary" afternoon refreshments were served. They charged us $6.50 a glass for this privilege. I felt like we had paid more than enough for our room, and this made us feel as if we were being taken advantage of.

Also, the bathroom in our room was so small, we could hardly turn around.

Other than that, it is a good location, and the property is very unique.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frontstreetowner, owner at Front Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2009

We encourage and appreciate honest reviews of our inn...we're always looking to improve! And, though I rarely respond to reviews, I feel compelled to say a few words about this particular one.

First, I'm sorry the guest felt "nickled and dimed" with his stay because of the confusion over our "honor bar." Upon check-in, each guest is shown around the inn and is told breakfast hours, and the like. One thing that is ALWAYS conveyed to the guest is the afternoon snacks (complimentary) AND "honor bar." We offer a small selection of wines, beers, soft drinks, etc...when the guest is shown this area, they are also shown the PRICE LIST!

Judging from another contribution, being "nickled and dimed" is of particular concern--and rightly so--for this guest. He expressed a concern in a previous review about having to pay for 1. parking, 2. breakfast, 3. coffe, 4. internet access...for the sake of FULL DISCLOSURE, I want this guest to remember that 1. off-street parking ten feet from the inn is COMPLIMENTARY, 2. breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY, 3. coffee, all day, is COMPLIMENTARY; 4. wireless internet is COMPLIMENTARY...as are razors, toothpaste...you get the idea...if you happen to forget yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Stayed for a rainy weekend in Wilmington, so I might have been biased by the weather.

But we stayed in the Hemingway room, which was gigantic, but surprisingly dull. The decor was pretty spartan, though it did sport a huge bathtub and King size bed.

I have to agree with reviews of the breakfast. Served as a continental breakfast, it was disappointing, especially for the premium prices that the inn charges relative to other B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grinwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We just returned from a lovely weekend getaway at the Front Street Inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, our suite was clean, comfortable and creatively decorated, and breakfast was delicious. Great location for walking around the waterfront or downtown as well. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank graphicsherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We have nothing but great comments about the Front Street Inn. We arrived long before check in time but were graciously welcomed, given a great recommendation for lunch and parked our car and took off to enjoy the waterfront. We returned still early for check-in but the room was ready in just a few minutes. The help provided with our luggage was appreciated.

This inn is in a great location. We parked our car and walked for the two days we visited. We were in the Hemimngway suite which is the nicest in the Inn with a private balcony from which you can just glimpse the river and the North Carolina battleship. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed, The king size sleigh bed was not only attractive and draped with netting, but it was a most comfortable mattress. The two person jacuzzi was enjoyed after all day of walking. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed several conversations with them. Nice little touches like chocolate kisses on the nightstand table and little bowl of bath salt and comfy robes were added.

The breakfast the first day was a little disappointing with hard-
boiled eggs and packaged ham slices. However, those items and the sausage patties and sliced cheese had much more taste than the buffet we ate breakfast at the day before. We were pleasantly surprised to be served quiche for our second breakfast. I suspect if quiche or breakfast casseroles were served daily, reviews of breakfast fare would improve.

The inn itself is lovely. The honor system offers choices for refreshment. We have a list of destination and accomodations that we want to revisit. Historic Wilmington is a grand place to visit (did you know Wilmington is listed as one of the places to see in "1000 Places in Canada and the USA to see before you Die") and the Inn helped make our trip outstanding. It's a wonderful inn and we look forward to returning before too long..

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SNC-Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My husband & I just returned from our weekend getaway at the Front Street Inn, and the worst part about our weekend was having to leave! Our room (the Bistro Suite) was very spacious and romantic, and felt very selcuded. The bed was extremly comfortable (not to mention a lovely and interesting conversation piece); and the 2 person spa tub was excatly what we needed after 2 days of walking! I loved the convience of entering the room from outside of the Inn, and not having to worry about waking up all the guests after a late dinner & walk on Saturday night. The location was perfect ~ we parked our car on Friday when we arrived, and did not need it until Sunday morning when we were leaving! We throughly enjoyed our breakfast on the sun porch, which included a variety of cereals; a tasty fruit salad; muffins; breads; delicious quiche; juices; & coffee.

Richard & Polly (the owners) were very charming, and really enjoy what they do! Rob was awesome ~ thanks for the recommendations for dinner!

Needless to say, we feel in love with Wilmington, and with the Front Street Inn!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#22 of 45 in Wilmington
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.2 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 18 in Wilmington
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £118 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Front Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing