We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Botique Hotel”
Review of Front Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Front Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel has an amazing location, free parking, and beautiful interiors. The Segovia room was particularly tasteful and not too 'bed and breakfast'. I missed the complimentary breakfast but the person at the desk was quick to prepare a tray of goodies to bring back to my room. The only thing that prevented a perfect score was that for a hotel of its price range, I would have expected a complimentary glass of wine or two.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank talpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at the Front Street Inn, and had a great time. We were definitely the youngest guests during our stay, but everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Pearl Buck room on the ground floor, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is such a short walk from all of the action in the historic part of Wilmington. There are so many great restaurants and fun bars in the area. The great thing is that you can't hear the nightlife sounds from the hotel. This is definitely a relaxing atmosphere and not a place to stay if you have a loud or rowdy group. I found the place to be ideal for a weekend getaway. The owners were extremely nice, and provide a great breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH1976JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I must admit, I am quite shocked to read some of the negative reviews people have posted. I am an inn keeper for a B&B in the mountains of NC and know what to expect for a nice stay. My date and I traveled to Wilmington over Halloween for my brother's wedding and absolutely loved staying at the Front Street Inn. I think that the rates are a little steep but it was well worth the money! The owners were a total pleasure and very nice to talk to. We stayed in the Kipling Suite and thought it was really pretty. Our room was on the main street and even though we stayed in on Halloween, we were never disturbed by the ruckus on the streets. The Inn is right downtown and you can walk to almost everything you need. We were surrounded by restaurants, bars, and shopping, a plenty. Breakfast was great and it definitely fills you up. Overall, out trip was amazing and we will definitely be back to stay at the Front Street Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelfreak878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

On our recent 4 day trip to Wilmington, NC my husband & I stayed at THE most wonderful B & B we have ever stayed at. Run by Richard & Polly & their son Chris, the beautifully decorated inn is conveniently close to the Cape Fear Riverwalk & gorgeous old home neighborhoods & shopping providing days of endless walking & exploration. Polly's healthy & delicious breakfasts (her fig bread & quiche are exceptional) provided enough fuel to kickstart the day even in the hottest July temperatures. Our room, the Bistro was quiet, cool, beautiful & so comfortable and gave us a home base we felt eager to return to & relax. Beaches, shops, restaurants and sights are all very close to FSI and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The only thing missing is a pool! We hope some day to return to this wonderful city; Wilmington, NC and if we do we will definately stay at Front Street Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I could not disagree more with the negative reviews. My husband and I have stayed there five times since January 2006 and we absolutely love it. The owners and staff have always more than accomodating and friendly. We've enjoyed three of their suites-- The Hemingway, The Cabana, and The Taverna. We love their breakfast with sweet breads, muffins, freshly made breakfast casseroles, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, cofee, tea and juices. We both enjoyed in-house massages for our honeymoon stay which were incredible. The atmosphere is laid back and very relaxing. The room's amenities are perfect. It is in a fabulous location for walking downtown Wilmington and enjoying the local restaurants and nightlife. We would both highly recommend this B&B to anyone. We're both in our early 20's and have enjoyed every stay we've had.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smile3mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Wilmington and the Front Street Inn. Our most recent trip was during the first week of April when we traveled to ILM for the annual Azalea Festival. We stayed from Wed to Sun. The weather was a bit off for a day or two, but the weekend turned out to be beautiful!! As usual, we had a great time at the Front Street. The inn is as clean as ever and Richard & Polly treated us well. We parked on Wed and didn't move our car until we left on Sun. We always stay at the Front Street Inn and have never had a bad experience. In July we're spending a week on the Outter Banks but we've booked two nights in ILM for the holiday (Front Street Inn is a perfect location for watching the fireworks). When you're in Wilmington, be sure to have at least one meal at Circa 1922 (tapas, etc), dessert at Kilwins ice cream, and a bottle of wine to end the evening from the Wilmington Wine Shoppe down near the river...it doesn't get much better than that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVAtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We chose the Front Street Inn from the pictures and discription on the internet. The room and Inn are not at all as depicted onlline. The decor was a mish mash mess. The room was way over priced for the yard sale type furnishings. There was a kitckenette with a stove but not even one pot or pan, plate or piece of silverware. Not even a trash can.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DPianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.2 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £105 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing