We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, clean”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The very friendly, nice people at the front desk gave us the best room,- on the corner, with windows looking up & down the river; if you book a suite you not only get a LR and BR, but views of the Cape Fear River as well as downtown; you also have a mw & frig in the room. Bathrooms are very modern, and the whole facility is very clean. Furniture is quite dated but you can pretend it's retro! B'fast is fine: scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, sweets, juices & coffee. (Really, who started this demand for b'fast? I'd rather have a less expensive hotel bill than b'fast!) TV in the b'fast room. Comfy beds! Easy walk right along the boardwalk into the historic downtown, can't beat the location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: go for the suite, you'll be happy as it's a bit larger, and bright with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really appreciate your nice comments and we look forward to your next stay.

Jackie Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    219
    71
    17
    18
See reviews for
158
274
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Croix Virgin Islands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great location right along the river each room has a great view. very quite and weel kept grounds with very friendly staff. I always return here when in the area and you are right acroos the river from the the Battleship North Carolina. Walking distance to many choices of restraunts, shopping and bars. Pet friendly!! wish they had a pool

Room Tip: everyroom is a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
We are so glad that you continue to visit our hotel! It says alot when guest keep returning to our hotel and that we continue making each stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next stay and thank you for staying with us!

Jackie Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed at the Best Western as the seminar I was attending was scheduled at the Conference center which is connectedd to the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a view of the Cape Fear river. You can see the North Carolina Battleship. It was a cloudy and cool weekend but it was nice to go and stroll the boardwalk. I felt comfortable in this part of the downtown area. There are alot of shops and resturants within walking distance. The only downside is that there was no microwave or mini-frig which is pretty standard, could have brought back the delicious meal I could not finish from the resturant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is next to one that is not occupied, if available, as the TV sounds can be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRoseVa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. We feel privileged to come to work everyday to see the wonderful views of the Cape Fear River, especially on a sunny day. As for the microwave/fridge, we have placed them in only a few rooms but we are looking to add them whenever we do our next renovation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Jackie Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We came to Wilmington for our anniversary and spent 4 nights at the Best Western. It is located right on the river and river walk. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a nice view. The room is really nice but just a little small. The bed was comfortable, nice flat screen tv, large shower and great view. Josh checked us in, he and the entire staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had a great time in Wilmington. Did the haunted pub crawl, went to the beach, toured the USS North Carolina Battleship, took the horse drawn trolley (proceeds go to save the horses), enjoyed a $5 evening boat tour of the harbor and ate at a ton of great places. We would recommend Wilmington and this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelashutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wilmington. Your kind words about the staff and especially Josh will be shared and they are greatly appreciated. My staff works very hard to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. And Happy Belated Anniversary!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am a business traveler, and have stayed here 5 or 6 times in the last year. The rooms are a l;ittle small compared to most mid priced chain hotels, but they have a great view of the river. The location is excellent downtown for walking to great food and local bars. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Without a doubt the best feature is the front desk staff. They do an excellent job of welcoming, and conceige. One of the best staffers I have encountered in my 20 years of travel is Josh Raney, he is a textbook example of the type of hotel ambassador that makes you come back to the property. I had a situation where I needed a room last minute, and the Coastline was full, Josh found me a room at a nearby hotel, and even negotiated the rate for me. He is a hospitality treasure

Room Tip: The queen bed rooms with a sofa offer a better sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_cavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and about my staff. They work very hard and they really do strive to make every guest experience a memorable one. Josh has been with us for almost three years and he does go above and beyond to make the guest stay a good one. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Jackie Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wonderful area with easy access to the riverfront and shops in the area. The whole site is well done making use oh historic structures. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Room was small but had a great water view. Only real negative was a musty smell in the room when we arrived. Open windows took care of that. Would like a better breakfast with a water view but all in all it's a good place to stay. And there are great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Grove, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We made a reservation using our Rewards points, but never received a confirmation e-mail/statement containing point information or charges. Due to a family emergency, we had to cancel 2 hours later. Upon going to the BW site and then to the BWRewards site, I saw that we were charged 16000 points for the one night stay. That's also what I was told by the reservations person when I called to cancel. HOWEVER, 24000 points were deducted from our account! Not good. We will be receiving a voucher for the points, but would have preferred they were put back in to the account. If using Rewards: Beware!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiehodge, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I'm sorry you had problems with you Rewards member reservation but even with Rewards point reservation, we handle them as we would any reservation coming into the hotel and once we received your reservation here at the property level, we redeemed your points and according to our processing of points the points to be redeemed were 24,000 and I'm very sorry your were told differently and once the points are redeemed we cannot credit back the points from the property level. We are very glad that you were able to get your points returned to your account and please know that nothing was done to your reservation that is not done to all other Reward member reservations. And if we do make a mistake we normally work very quickly to get the issue taken care of immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coastline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coastline Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Address: 503 Nutt St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Coastline Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Coastline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coastline Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Coastline Inn Wilmington Nc
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing