We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for one night this past weekend while in town for a wedding. In our party were me, my husband and our 17-year-old daughter. We were lucky to be able to check in a bit early but had to take a ground floor room. Still, we had a nice view of the water and it was nice to not have to deal with the elevator. The clerk at check in was very nice. Our room was fine but l got the feeling maybe it had flooded at some point in the past as it was a tad musty. That resolved some when we turned on the ac (it was a very warm day) and l didn't notice any odor for the rest of the stay. The popcorn ceiling has to go! It was discolored in spots. The shower was the weirdest l have ever used - the shower head came out of the ceiling and there was no door or curtain to close (there's a stationary glass door that keeps the water in however) but we all loved the shower anyway, nice tile in it. But the shower made a loud screaming noise when running, which woke my daughter up. The bathroom was very small but the sink had a granite countertop, a plus. Our bed was very comfy and the linens smelled and looked clean, all pluses. So, the reason l gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is this: 1) l found a hair elastic on the floor under the sink in the bathroom and my daughter found candy papers on the floor beside the bed, so l felt the room was probably not cleaned appropriately prior to our check-in and 2) the room where breakfast is served is TINY. The door to it made me feel like l was entering a prison eatery, and there were only about 4 or 5 tables inside. There is also a bar/counter that runs along 2 walls with chairs for overflow seating and maybe 2 tables outside but we smelled smoke outside and wanted to be inside, but it was packed. We had to wait for a table. The food was about what you'd expect; 3 choices of cereal, packets of grits and oatmeal, toast, bagels, danish, oranges, apples and (spotted, ugh) bananas, those big waffles that you make yourself, 3 choices of juice, coffee, yogurt, hardboiled eggs in little plastic bags, and sausage and eggs. The eggs were horrible!! They must have been the powdered kind - they were rubbery and when you scooped them up with the spoon, water ran off. But we were able to fill up on the other items offered, thank goodness. The people in the room beside us were partying outside so we had to call the desk, and there was a wedding nearby with very loud music, but by midnight, all was quiet and we slept well. When you take everything into consideration, we would definitely stay here again because the pluses far outweigh the minuses. I would stay here over the nearby Hilton any day, for the view, better rates, free breakfast and free parking.

Room Tip: They are all water front, but the shower in room 109 makes a loud screaming noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nervousnelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We greatly appreciate any and all comments left by our hotel guest. I'm sorry about the problems you had during your stay. Per my previous reply, when I got your comments regarding the shower in 109, I immediately went to check the shower and I did not hear the noise but I have my housekeeping and maintenance staff on guard for any noises coming from the shower. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    213
    68
    16
    18
See reviews for
150
256
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this pet friendly hotel in a great location. It was very clean and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful I would definitely stay here again when in the area. It was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments on the hotel and the staff. I will share your nice comments with the staff and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Location was wonderful for walking to many restaurants and shops. Being located on the river made for wonderful views. Also, enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Found the room to very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments on the hotel. We look forward to your return very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

really enjoyed our stay at the best western in cape fear, nc. the room was beautiful and the view of the river was great. the hotel staff was excellent. would definitely stay here again and wish we could've stayed longer. the breakfast was very good and check out quick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments on the hotel and the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Rooms were nice and modern. Very clean. Staff was nice and helpful. The continental breakfast had a nice selection and was well stocked, although the eating room was small. The hotel is on the waterfront near old town Wilmington and you can get a lot of noise at nite from the bars and old town, especially if there is an activity like a marathon or triathlon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your nice comments about the hotel and the staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent Woods, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff were very friendly, knowledgable and provided service above expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure. The location to downtown Wilmington was great and everthing was within walking distance. Beautiful waterfront rooms, well lit for security and safe area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Etta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We over paid for the quality of this room, it smelled like mildew, the locks didn't work properly, the internet was spotty, toiletries and coffee were left on occasion. The noise starting at 5am, was ridiculous as they stocked the breakfast area. Not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiebrinson, General Manager at Best Western Plus Coastline Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We greatly appreciate any and all comments, whether good or bad. We will take your comments and work on the issues. It's our job to make sure all guest are happy and satisfied with their stay and I'm sorry that we let you down. If any of the issues had been reported during your stay I'm certain my staff would have addressed immediately. We appreciate your business and thank you again for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#29 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
7.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Coastline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Coastline Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Address: 503 Nutt St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3339
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Coastline Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Coastline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coastline Hotel Wilmington
Best Western Coastline Inn Wilmington Nc
Best Western Wilmington
Wilmington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing