We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY DISAPOINTING!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Screen Gems Studio

Screen Gems Studio
Ranked #15 of 38 Tours in Wilmington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Movie studio with sound stages and a back lot, where you can get a tour.
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPOINTING!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We saw ONE set and after that it was all outside in very hot humid heat on asphalt. They did offer Wal Mart bottled water for $1. The guides would point to barrack type buildings and tell you what was inside them, but you could not go in. If you were not close to the guide you were unable to hear what was being said. At the end you enter an air conditioned building and watch a five minute movie clip of some of the movies that have been made there. The entire tour could have been on film or in a pamphlet. The only good thing about this tour was the ONE set we were shown. We will take no more out of town guest.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Millergirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    9
    0
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Visit Screen Gems Studio in Wilmington, NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the largest movie studio outside of LA. There are 10 backlots. Tours are given Saturday and Sunday at 10, 12 and 2. It is very interesting to see how the sets are made. Currently filming here among others is Under the Dome. On the tour you can go on the set of the diner, the jail and town offices. It is really fun to be on the sets, especially having watched the show. The tour is about one hour and very enjoyable. In the summer it can be warm so dress for it. Water is available for purchase.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripwilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Behind the scenes tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were looking for something different to do in the area. Thought this tour would fit the bill. The 1 hour tour cost is $12 pp. Cash only. No charge for parking. Our tour guide was a film student at UNC Wilmington. She was very knowledgeable about the film making process. You check in at the building that is used as the studio commissary. We were able to go on the set of "Under the Dome". We were inside the Sweetbriar Rose restaurant, the jail and sheriffs office. Although we do not watch the show, it was fun and informative. We do plan to start watching the show so we can see the sets we toured! The rest of the tour is outside. There were a few props you could see at a distance from other movies filmed at the studio. There is a back lot where "Sleepy Hollow" is filmed but since it is set up for episodes that have not yet aired, we did not get a chance to see it. No photography is allowed anywhere on the studio lot. At the end of the tour, you go into the original studio building. Here you get a chance to sit in the screening room where producers and directors screen their commercials, music videos or films. The tour ends with a short film on some of the movies that were filmed at EUE Screen Gems Studio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank IWork2TravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Much ado about nothing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a low-key tour. Not worth $12. A few 20 somethings will walk you around the "lot" and keep telling you that "We're not allowed back there...we're not aloud in that building either". You do get to see a very bad quality short film of the films that were made in NC. We were only allowed into "The Dome" set (which WAS very cool), but that's about it. For some strange reason they ONLY take cash. They have a couple boring t-shirts you can buy (cash only) and bottled water (only, you are not aloud to drink water in any of the buildings). You also are not aloud to take any photos.
**Whatever you do...do NOT arrive early because there is absolutely nothing to do or see while you wait.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Advisorstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I went on this tour with 3 of my friends. We are all huge movie buffs and enjoy TV shows as well. I loved the studio in particular because it has had so many of my favorite shows film there. They even still have lockers from Dawson's Creek (one of my fav's) and One Tree Hill. This is a great studio tour the only downside is it is an all walking tour. So if you have mobility issues I would not suggest it. You're also not allowed to take pictures on the premises. That was a little unfortunate but I will have to survive with my mental memories. Overall, I had a great time and would suggest this to fellow movie lovers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Screen Gems Studio also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Screen Gems Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing