We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool”

Battleship NORTH CAROLINA
Ranked #1 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: As you walk the decks of the NORTH CAROLINA, imagine yourself in the South Pacific during WWII searching the sky for enemy aircraft, anticipating what may happen next. Step aboard the most decorated US Battleship of WWII! Explore nine decks, crew's quarters, gun turrets, and much more. Discover where history comes alive. Located at the junctions of highways 17, 76, 74, 421 on the Cape Fear River across from historic downtown Wilmington. Open every day!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Burlington, Iowa, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It is interesting to watch a TV show and see the Battleships, but it is awesome to actually be able to tour on one that served in the Greatest War that mankind has ever waged. I toured it when I was in the Marine Corps in the Mid 90's. Wish I would have had a camera then. So much to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,041
    628
    69
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting & a good value!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We toured the battleship on Nov. 30th with a group of four adults and five children of various ages (the youngest was eight) Everyone seemed to enjoy looking around and the self-guided tours. Points of interest included signs explaining what we were looking at and memories from the Sailors who served on the ship. There were very few areas we could not enter or at least see through a window. All the old machines and equipment were present. The tour is very interesting and worth the price of admission.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great way to learn history”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a great way to spend an afternoon. Very eye opening to see what our men have gone through. Definitely worth it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SOrsucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Showboat!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Awesome does not begin to describe this tour. I wonder what she felt like on the high seas? Great experience for children and landlubbers and anyone interested in the US Navy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic battleship”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The battleship is a great adventure, even if you've toured it before. The nooks and crannies are readily available for viewing. Adults can enjoy the history and the kids can climb on many things and "pretend." My grandsons liked the deck better than below decks. During the summer, remember there is no air conditioning and mid day you're in for a sweaty experience. It's well worth the trip though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battleship NORTH CAROLINA also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Battleship NORTH CAROLINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing