We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Wilmington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port City Guest House
Ranked #13 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The thing that makes this B&B the best by far is Sophie. My friend and I were on a road trip to 20 states. Wilmington was amazing and Sophies B&B was by far the best place we stayed. It is like a slice of paradise. Sophie's home is huge and beautiful. The rooms are amazing with very comfy beds. The house is very traditional and just overall spectacular. When you come here you feel at home. The breakfast was fabulous and Sophies company and conversation made it even better. She is the epitome of hospitality. She offered snacks and tea and kept trying to feed us. Her dog Jake was great and it felt like he was part of the family. Our trip to Wilmington was unforgettable and no doubt it was because of Sophie. You are crazy if you do not chose this place!

Room Tip: Every room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdimatteo643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

This B and B was in the heart of the Mansion District and in a great location to explore Wilmington and beyond. Sophie, the owner and innkeeper, could not do enough for us...she is the epitome of southern hospitality. We eat heart healthy and Sophie accomodated us royally...plus her treats and afternoon "tea" were very welcoming...she could not do enough for us....the rooms were very ample and some have a shared bath. Our room had the private bath and it was very roomy. The house was tastefully decorated and made us feel "right at home....cozy!"

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The welcome in this 'bed and breakfast' inn was like a warm bath. Sophie gave us (family with a daughter of 16) an overwhelming array of drinks, sweets, fruits and other things. The rest of our stay (3 nights) were a true example of southern hospitality. Sophie was available whenever we needed her and she was discrete and caring. She gave us, fairytale-like rooms with all the modern comfort you need when there is a heat wave going on. The beds were very comfortable. We could use a microwave and a washing-machine. We are very grateful we found this lovely bed and breakfast. Sophie has a dog, Jake, who is greatly recommended by our daughter. We can surely recommend this B&B to everyone. The more, where the city of Wilmington is a hidden gem itself.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is probably THE most beautiful B&B i have ever stayed in. The house was huge, very clean, and beautifully decorated. Sophie, the owner was PERFECT....such a gracious lady. Would recommend this B&B to ANYONE visiting Wilmington.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I were originally supposed to check in some time in the morning. Unfortunately, some unexpected things came up and we ended up checking in some time past 10:30 in the evening. Honestly, we were afraid to call about how late we were going to be. When we called to let the B&B know, Sophie was extremely gracious about the whole thing and waited up for us. She was the perfect hostess for the entire weekend. Our room was beautiful, the house was tidy, Sophie was extremely helpful, and the food was excellent. We especially enjoyed her morning waffles! We didn’t have to worry about our car being parked on the street because they had parking in the back. Overall, it was quite a pleasant experience and we plan on staying at her B&B the next time we are in Wilmington. Happy traveling!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 18 in Wilmington
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Front Street Inn
Front Street Inn
#8 of 18 in Wilmington
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
1 mi away
The City Club of Wilmington at De Rosset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port City Guest House

Address: 1511 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4910
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £114 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port City Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Port City Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing