We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Wilmington”
Review of Black Sea Grill

Black Sea Grill
Ranked #49 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Black Sea Grill is a family owned & operated Mediterranean Turkish cuisine, casual family dining restaurant. Our family chef prepares your individual order using fresh local produce, meats, vegetables & fish. We offer that intimate experience, family dining or can accommodate that business meeting. We also offer a "GLUTEN FREE" Menu.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Wilmington”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From our very first visit to Black Sea Grill my wife and I knew we found a "keeper". The Mediterranean fare provided is always fresh and consistently very delicious. We have been frequenting this restaurant since we discovered it last year and have become part of the owner's family. Recommend making a reservation especially in nice weather when tourists abound in downtown Wilmington as seating is limited. We have had every dish they serve routinely and many specials when offered - always cooked to perfection and served with smiles.
We always bring out of town visitors to a night out treat. We always leave satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    41
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Second verse same as the first!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We dined at Black Sea Grill our second time, having been there several months ago. Don't know why we haven't gone back sooner! Though small (reservations are highly recommended on nights when the theaters are showing productions especially) the ambiance is quite pleasant.

We started with the Black Sea Anchovy appetizer. Small and succulent and very tender and tasty. The bed of seasoned onions is scrumptious in and of itself! I had the Rainbow Trout (North Carolina grown) which was tender and flaky and oh-so-tasty. My husband has the special for the night, grilled salmon. It was also delicious. John, the owner, is pleasant and our service was prompt and attentive. Dinners are served with jasmine rice and either a house salad or the vegetable of the day. We have gotten the vegetable both times...a seasoned cabbage dish which defies the normal attitude lent to a cabbage dish. Yum!

The only recommendation I would make for this establishment is to offer cloth napkins instead of white paper ones. Seems a small touch, but it would add so much to the classiness the place deserves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vbailey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Food is amazing! I ordered the lamb, and my husband ordered the fish and lamb. Everything was amazing. The staff was very friendly and told us a bit about the area as we were only visiting! So if your looking for good cooked to ores food and good price check it out!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What an excellent restaurant. Every time my family comes to town, I take them here. It's a quiet, classy establishment with very attentive servers and a menu full of great options. I usually get the shrimp--which is simple but always delicious. By the way, I highly recommend the kanafe for dessert--sounds odd, tastes amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ejane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A rarity in Wilmington -- Mediterranean food”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had such a good meal at Black Sea Grill last week. Love middle eastern food, but not easy to find around Wilmington. The lamb chops and kebabs were great and my husband said the tilapia was one of the best he's had. And the jasmine rice is so fragrant. Owner is nice as well. Do try it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Sea Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Black Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing