We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Campground in the heart of Wilmington” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilmington KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilmington KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Winooski, Vermont
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quiet Campground in the heart of Wilmington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently took our two dogs here with us for a week. We rented one of the deluxe cabins with a partial kitchen and full bath. The property was very clean and well-kept as well as the cabin. Had all the comforts of home plus a large deck, fire ring, grill, and private yard area. There are two great dog parks and the staff is very friendly. Close to everything you need but secluded enough that you feel like you are in the woods. Will be making KOA regular visits from now on!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    24
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
42
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped by here on our way up to the outer banks and were pleased with the camp. There was a nice dog park, which is important to us and clean bathrooms which we all like! The staff was helpful and courteous. Our main negative feedback was all the mosquitos. They should look at options to reduce their numbers. Deep Woods Off can only do so much. We also had some very noisy campers nearby that were playing music loud into the night. Luckily our rig blocked most the noise but I felt bad for those in tents.
If traveling through again, we would gladly stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfax_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Guest Relations Manager at Wilmington KOA, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Shadowfax_Clan,

Thank you very much for camping with us. We also appreciate your review and your valued feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A bit pricey but worth it with very helpful and friendly staff. A worker staying next me grows veggies for campers to take. Would definitely return. Only negative is dusty roads but they attempt to control that by spraying. Changed my opinion of koa's to very positive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stowbilly1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
456 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great time at this KOA, there are so many extra's compared to the last KOA we stayed at in Mount Pleasant/Charleston SC. We are on a one year trip across America on our motorcycle (Goldwing). We rent the kamping kabins as they work out great for us. Our kabin had a refrigerator and tv. Both worked very well, it was clean. Really cool that they also have herbs and garden boxes to share with the campers. The bathrooms were very clean. The pool area looked great, we didn't have time to use it but we did use the laundry room. It was very reasonable to use the machines, they were clean and everything was in great working order. They also have a family room with a business center which is a plus for people on the road that need a printer. We would definitely recommend staying here. We had a great time and no complaints!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed at this KOA many times over the last three years. It was a favourite campground being ideally situated in the beautiful city of Wilmington and not that far away from the wonderful Wrightsville Beach. Unfortunately there is little other choice for camping in the area which is a pity because in effect this campground has a monopoly.

The result of this monopoly has been that prices have risen and risen without the consequent improvement in quality. Every time it rains the dirt roads become pitted with potholes and walking the dog is a nightmare.

There has been a constant change of staff on the front desk and they have often seemed to be clueless and uncaring. The decline has happened since the managers moved off campground and since then they were about only rarely.

The customers have changed considerably as well. We often stay here in the winter months and the clientele has changed dramatically. There was always an area at the back where long term stayers were situated but over the last two winters the long term stayers have increased to a major extent. Most of these people are transient workers working on projects in the area. The majority are quiet considerate people but because they are workers they leave often as early as 4:30am and their diesel engined trucks are not the quietest engines in the world. This coupled with the fire station located close by means that sleep is often disturbed here.

The wi-fi is a joke - the only investments made at this campground are those intended to increase revenue an example being upgrading the 30 amp plots and replacing them with 50amp sites.

There is some good news. There is now a new management team and it will be interesting to see how they cope. So far it is encouraging - having changed our latest booking the front desk were able to ensure that we didn't have to move sites. One time we had to move three times in a 10 day stay because the front desk staff were either too lazy and couldn't be bothered to move bookings around or too incompetent maybe through lack of training.

We have made many friends at this campground over the course of the years but unless the campground improves we will henceforward minimise our time here.

Room Tip: The patio sites are really worth the extra money over the ordinary sites - they tend to be quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnie D, Manager at Wilmington KOA, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Mike. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our KOA campground. Your review will only serve to help us improve. It's our goal to make your stay as pleasant as possible, so please do not hesitate to let us know if something here comes up as unsatisfactory. I'm sorry you had issues, in particular, with our front desk staff. I will do my best to make sure that every staff member is well-trained and attentive, and I encourage any future feedback (good or bad) surrounding issues such as this. I'm also sorry you had connectivity problems with the wifi and hope that you report any problems like this to us so we can get it resolved during your stay. I hope you will give our campground another try, as I see that you have been a patron for years.

Sincerely,
Bonnie Day
Manager, Wilmington KOA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

-A "cut-above" the usual KOA's with lots of amenities for kids. Sparkling pool had just opened for the season. We were travelling in a Class B and did not require full hook-up and were given a wide site under the tall pine trees which was so much better than being sandwiched between those intimidating large, luxury Class A's !! Friendly staff, very clean and very well-equipped restrooms added to the pleasure of stopping here. We had no problems at all with the wifi connections. The store was not well stocked but there is a Hess gas station convenience store just outside the entrance. The campground is ten minutes from the must-see Airlie Gardens and the Downtown boardwalk area and about the same time to Wrightsville Beach and 25 minutes to Carolina Beach. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed while in Wilmington for Thanksgiving. Kid friendly, had a nice playground for the children, facilities were clean, laundry facilities were nice too. Additionally, staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
4.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
3.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilmington KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilmington KOA

Property: Wilmington KOA
Address: 7415 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28411-9454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you set foot at Wilmington KOA, you'll see for yourself why we have won the prestigious Founder's Award, a coveted honor that proves we're leading the way in the KOA camping and lodging experience, since 2009. Our relaxing nature retreat is hidden in the heart of Wilmington's city life, providing the perfect blend of solitude and entertainment. With sprawling Southern Pines shadowing our RV resort and luxurious cabin accommodations, you and your family will experience the fun of camping with all the comforts of home. There's something for everyone - from a sparkling swimming pool and cozy game room to a stocked camp store and even a playground for your pets. And when you venture beyond the campground, our friendly staff will help point you in the direction of wherever you want to go - whether it be the historical U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship, a romantic riverboat cruise, or the North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher, one of the region's largest aquariums. Plus, you'll find yourself only five miles from the sun-drenched sand and surf of Wrightsville Beach and mere minutes from the charming historic downtown shopping and dining district. You have to see it to believe it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilmington Koa Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing