We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "Urban" Campground”
Review of Wilmington KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilmington KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent "Urban" Campground”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Even though this is minutes from one of Wilmington's busiest streets, it feels like a campground. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin. It was clean, the park was clean and quiet and there were great amenities such as a pool, playground and volleyball net. Friendly people and friendly to kids and dogs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nauticow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    27
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
75
46
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a week and right from the initial check in and throughout our stay everything was A++. We stayed in a pull through site without the concrete pad. As we walked through out the campground I found that all sites were lovely. Shaded all or in part, nicely spaced and easily accessible. Facilities were always extremely clean. We participated in movies at dusk and the root beer floats by the pool. Both very well run functions.


They do pick up trash at your site daily which was a nice plus!


I saw a few reviews that mentioned road noise. Our site was at the front of the campground and we sat out each evening listening to the sounds of nature with no issues with road noise. There is a fire station nearby but we did not notice any volumes that distracted from our stay.

There are lots of stores close by for quick purchases (grocery, pharmacy, restaurants, etc). Local pizza places deliver and there are coupons in your welcome packet.

Definitely will stay again. I think this will be an annual destination for our family.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great campground we love koa !!! Plenty to do around Wilmington but a nice quiet place to come back to at night !!! Pool is wonderful grounds spotless staff wonderful great playground and everyone is so friendly

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sadiejoey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winooski, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently took our two dogs here with us for a week. We rented one of the deluxe cabins with a partial kitchen and full bath. The property was very clean and well-kept as well as the cabin. Had all the comforts of home plus a large deck, fire ring, grill, and private yard area. There are two great dog parks and the staff is very friendly. Close to everything you need but secluded enough that you feel like you are in the woods. Will be making KOA regular visits from now on!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped by here on our way up to the outer banks and were pleased with the camp. There was a nice dog park, which is important to us and clean bathrooms which we all like! The staff was helpful and courteous. Our main negative feedback was all the mosquitos. They should look at options to reduce their numbers. Deep Woods Off can only do so much. We also had some very noisy campers nearby that were playing music loud into the night. Luckily our rig blocked most the noise but I felt bad for those in tents.
If traveling through again, we would gladly stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfax_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Guest Relations Manager at Wilmington KOA, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Shadowfax_Clan,

Thank you very much for camping with us. We also appreciate your review and your valued feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A bit pricey but worth it with very helpful and friendly staff. A worker staying next me grows veggies for campers to take. Would definitely return. Only negative is dusty roads but they attempt to control that by spraying. Changed my opinion of koa's to very positive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stowbilly1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great time at this KOA, there are so many extra's compared to the last KOA we stayed at in Mount Pleasant/Charleston SC. We are on a one year trip across America on our motorcycle (Goldwing). We rent the kamping kabins as they work out great for us. Our kabin had a refrigerator and tv. Both worked very well, it was clean. Really cool that they also have herbs and garden boxes to share with the campers. The bathrooms were very clean. The pool area looked great, we didn't have time to use it but we did use the laundry room. It was very reasonable to use the machines, they were clean and everything was in great working order. They also have a family room with a business center which is a plus for people on the road that need a printer. We would definitely recommend staying here. We had a great time and no complaints!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilmington KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilmington KOA

Property: Wilmington KOA
Address: 7415 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28411-9454
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you set foot at Wilmington KOA, you'll see for yourself why we have won the prestigious Founder's Award, a coveted honor that proves we're leading the way in the KOA camping and lodging experience, since 2009. Our relaxing nature retreat is hidden in the heart of Wilmington's city life, providing the perfect blend of solitude and entertainment. With sprawling Southern Pines shadowing our RV resort and luxurious cabin accommodations, you and your family will experience the fun of camping with all the comforts of home. There's something for everyone - from a sparkling swimming pool and cozy game room to a stocked camp store and even a playground for your pets. And when you venture beyond the campground, our friendly staff will help point you in the direction of wherever you want to go - whether it be the historical U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship, a romantic riverboat cruise, or the North Carolina Aquarium at Fort Fisher, one of the region's largest aquariums. Plus, you'll find yourself only five miles from the sun-drenched sand and surf of Wrightsville Beach and mere minutes from the charming historic downtown shopping and dining district. You have to see it to believe it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilmington Koa Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing