We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word - WOW”

Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro
Ranked #96 of 669 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our dream was to share our love for great food, good drinks, groovy music and the other good things in life with as many friends ~ old and new ~ as we could. ​ ​ (C) 2014 cmw management, llc. All rights reserved chef carey & ron our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So... Sit. Relax. Eat. Drink. Enjoy. The "wayfarer" concept allows us to culinarily travel the globe. Without the restrictions of a specific cuisine, we are free to explore and create food using the best ingredients and recipes we can find from cultures and food suppliers from all over the world.​We craft our roast beef, pork tenderloin and corned beef "in-house" and our meatloaf is made using a family recipe handed down from Chef Carey's beloved Mother. Our deli meats and cheeses are sourced from some of the best purveyors in the world, ensuring nothing but the finest quality. We make everything else from scratch, allowing our wonderful ingredients and carefully constructed recipes to speak for themselves. While we strive to provide quickly prepared quality meals and intuitive service, please note that we fresh-cut all of our meats and cheeses and make 100% of our menu items "as ordered", so please allow proper time for preparation.​Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria! Our commitment to quality does not stop in our kitchen ~ we also have a wide variety of fantastic soft-drinks, a great choice of craft & domestic beer and an award-winning selection of wines. And don't forget our famous house-made sangria!This cozy, historic building (circa 1900) and quaint, historic downtown setting are perfect companions to these adventurous recipes from our families and from all over the world! So...
Level Contributor
195 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“One word - WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Lunch at the Wayfarer was great. I had the meatloaf - had a little heat from the chipotle and it was great. I had to take half home as the portion was very generous. The shrimp and bacon Mac and cheese as a side was ridiculously good. We both enjoyed the side portion. My wife had the Tuscan Chicken and it was really, really good. Very moist with a really good roll. I can't wait to go back and try something else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    18
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavores beyond wondrful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had the Bison Burger! It was absolutley delicious and the service was great. We will definately go back next vist.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Soup and sandwiches to DIE for,at a reasonable price!! They also have a pretty big beer list! The server was also very nice and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Sierra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Sweet surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Tucked away on So. Front St., this little restaurant is a "sweet surprise" for anyone who happens to be looking for a delightful lunch! We tried the awesome French onion soup, the awesome Mac 'n Cheese with bits of sausage (yummy), and pannini sandwiches so big you can easily split one with your partner. A cup of freshly prepared seasonal fruit and tall glass of lemonnado completed our fare. The friendly waitstaff was prompt, welcoming and quick with service ...who could ask for anything more? We'll definitely be back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anika2272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Six stars... top quality food, service and staff - Wilmington is undeserving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A "sandwich shop" shouldn't be this good... but it is, and so much better. With daily s'mac and cheese and sandwich specials, you never know what you can get. In my dozen+ experiences with this place, I can honestly say I've never had a bad meal or a meal that the chefs "settled" for. Everything is top quality and served with the highest regard to customer satisfaction. I hate to call it a sandwich shop because the quality and attention to detail is something that even the finest of french bistro's strive for. If you like high quality foods, and you like good sandwiches, give this place a shot; they will not let you down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayfarerdeli, General Manager at Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you VERY much for your positive feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our customers and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Wayfarer Deli & Bistro.

Hopefully, we'll see you back soon! In the meantime, you can check us out on Facebook or our website for ever-changing features and our famous bison burgers on Thursdays and Saturdays!

Thanks again!

Your gracious hosts,
Chef Carey & Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wayfarer Delicatessen & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing