We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An A+ establishment!”
Review of Hotel Tarrymore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tarrymore
Ranked #7 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel- and plan on making it our go-to for accommodations any time we travel back to Wilmington. From the charming, clean suite to the friendly staff who go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable, this place is a destination all it's own. An added bonus- it is centrally located in the historic downtown district; everything we needed was within walking distance.. If you plan on traveling to Wilmington, do yourself a favor- skip the Hilton and stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We have so many couples who continue to come back year after year because of the same great experience that you had with us. We know that we will see you again soon and appreciate so much your business and your service to our country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night. It was such a nice experience. We were welcomed by the owner who couldn't have been more pleasant. We received a complimentary bottle of wine which we enjoyed on the porch that night before taking a walk along the river. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The location and hospitality were all wonderful. If we come back to Wilmington, we definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much for your recent visit and the great positive feedback! We will make every effort to make your next stay even more enjoyable so please come back to see us soon and tell all your friends. We are a small veteran owned business and every single customer is important to us. So from the bottom of our hearts, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Met friends for a brief reunion. Hotel graciously broke its 2 night minimum policy to work with our group for one night. Suite was decorated nicely and kitchenette was well equipped. Wish the beautiful bar downstairs was open to all visitors, not just special events. Morning noise from neighboring rooms was a little loud. Could use some sound proofing. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms were fantastic for several friends to gather. Walls between the rooms/suites are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed having all of you and are happy to report that our bar is now open to the general public every Thursday, Friday & Saturday evening. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Tarrymore for 2 nights in July and couldn't have been happier with our all around great experience! This boutique's location can't be best when you're in the heart of the histori district district and a 3 block walk from the waterfront and restaurants. Our suite was immaculate and the perevt size. The stocked kitchen was an added plus as we had intended to cook one evening but dined out, instead.

We had a fantastic stay and the location really was perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saew0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Were lucky to be in this terrific location and even more lucky to have great customers who really appreciate what we have to offer. Thank you so much for the great compliments. We appreciate it so very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel had a lot of character and was in a great location. It was very clean and the staff was great! It has a few quirks being an older property, but overall we loved it! My only recommendation would be to open the beautiful bar downstairs to all guests, not just for special events. We would loved to have had some wine in the evenings down there.

Room Tip: Choose a room that connects to the atrium. Especially if you are traveling in a group booking more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toriterzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are glad to hear you loved your stay overall! We are working diligently with the state ABC board and local community members to have our alcohol permit changed so we can serve our guests alcohol! It is our hope that by the next time you stay with us, we will be able to serve you a craft beverage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I chose the Hotel Tarrymore as our Venue for our wedding. We had our ceremony and reception there. We could not have been more pleased with how smoothly everything went and the help of all the staff! Everyone was so nice and the place is beautiful. We also stayed in one of the rooms for the "wedding night". The rooms are so beautiful and I will definitely look into staying there again on our next visit to town! I honestly could not have asked for a better experience for a wedding venue or hotel stay! <3<3

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and very roomy. You can't go wrong :). I looked at facebook and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KellyStMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It was a great wedding and we are so happy that you chose us as a venue and as a place for you to rest your head. Thanks for sharing with us - we look forward to having you the next time you are in town!

Your friends,
HT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The rooms are warm & inviting. I was in #10 Lumina Station which boasts a very comfortable king bed! Although I didn't use the kitchenette, I did notice how nicely equipped it is.

Excellent bar area! My sister's wedding reception was held there - nicely accommodated 100 people. Jeff - the owner -TOP NOTCH!! Professional, respectful...and most importantly...friendly! The entire staff made the stay that much more pleasurable! The front desk clerk ( I won't attempt to massacre the spelling) her name begins with R - is an absolute delight!

The food was excellent! Their Chef prepared the best prime rib I've had in years!!

One suggestion - provide a smokers station. The property is smoke free, which was very nice, however it would improve the curb appearance if you would install a smokers station for smokers to dispose of their 'butts' properly rather than throw them on the ground, sidewalk...

Overall - 5 stars!! Highly recommend! I will be back!

Room Tip: #10 Lumina Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

what a great review!! Thank you so much -- we do have some pretty good prime rib :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.0 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riverwalk
Hotel Riverwalk
#3 of 18 in Wilmington
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tarrymore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarrymore

Address: 102 S 2nd St, 102 S. Second Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-4495
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tarrymore is Wilmington's only boutique hotel complete with spacious one & two bedroom suites accommodating up to 28 guests, a full service restaurant and patio designed exclusively for private dining and a formal ballroom for entertaining up to 200 guests. Upon arrival, you will immediately become a resident of Old Wilmington right alongside those in the many gracious homes surrounded by azaleas and quiet streets lined with live oaks and oleander. We are located only a few steps from our thriving downtown shopping and dining district with many live entertainment venues. So, plan your weekend getaway, private party, and wedding events at Hotel Tarrymore where you can catch the sunrise over our city and see the sunset over the Cape Fear River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing