We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Tarrymore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Tarrymore
Ranked #7 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stumbled on this and so glad we did! Beautiful, airy suite with full kitchen, personal upstairs porch with rockers, and complimentary bottle of wine from the desk. Picked up items at the nearby Italian Gourmet Market, relaxed on the veranda, then cooked ourselves a lovely dinner. All for the price of more conventional lodging. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakingOurWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you so very much! We love it that you took advantage of the great kitchen and the rockers on the balcony. We do indeed try to make Hotel Tarrymore your home away from home. Always happy to have you the next time you are in town! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    21
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
48
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed three nights at the Hotel Tarrymore while in town for business. The suite was basically a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen - for less than the chain hotels charged for a basic room. Breakfast with the owner and other guests was excellent (Jeff is a coffee snob!) and the service was outstanding. I will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mwmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We're so grateful for our business travelers who come and stay for extended periods. Thank you so much for appreciating our locally roasted coffee and fresh muffins. I'm here every morning, so come on back for breakfast! Thanks for the continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Right in the heart of downtown Wilmington, you can do it all and enjoy the city and safely walk to your suite for a comfortable nights sleep. Kitchens make stay very nice. Many museums, restaurants, historic homes, great shopping are all within walking distance.

Plus the river is only a few blocks away so you can also enjoy all those activiites. Great for couples of all ages and families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We're so grateful for your business and happy that you had a great time with us! Please remember to stay with us again the next time you are in town. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel- and plan on making it our go-to for accommodations any time we travel back to Wilmington. From the charming, clean suite to the friendly staff who go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable, this place is a destination all it's own. An added bonus- it is centrally located in the historic downtown district; everything we needed was within walking distance.. If you plan on traveling to Wilmington, do yourself a favor- skip the Hilton and stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We have so many couples who continue to come back year after year because of the same great experience that you had with us. We know that we will see you again soon and appreciate so much your business and your service to our country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night. It was such a nice experience. We were welcomed by the owner who couldn't have been more pleasant. We received a complimentary bottle of wine which we enjoyed on the porch that night before taking a walk along the river. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. The location and hospitality were all wonderful. If we come back to Wilmington, we definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent visit and the great positive feedback! We will make every effort to make your next stay even more enjoyable so please come back to see us soon and tell all your friends. We are a small veteran owned business and every single customer is important to us. So from the bottom of our hearts, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Met friends for a brief reunion. Hotel graciously broke its 2 night minimum policy to work with our group for one night. Suite was decorated nicely and kitchenette was well equipped. Wish the beautiful bar downstairs was open to all visitors, not just special events. Morning noise from neighboring rooms was a little loud. Could use some sound proofing. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms were fantastic for several friends to gather. Walls between the rooms/suites are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed having all of you and are happy to report that our bar is now open to the general public every Thursday, Friday & Saturday evening. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Tarrymore for 2 nights in July and couldn't have been happier with our all around great experience! This boutique's location can't be best when you're in the heart of the histori district district and a 3 block walk from the waterfront and restaurants. Our suite was immaculate and the perevt size. The stocked kitchen was an added plus as we had intended to cook one evening but dined out, instead.

We had a fantastic stay and the location really was perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saew0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTarrymore, Owner at Hotel Tarrymore, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Were lucky to be in this terrific location and even more lucky to have great customers who really appreciate what we have to offer. Thank you so much for the great compliments. We appreciate it so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tarrymore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarrymore

Property: Hotel Tarrymore
Address: 102 S 2nd St, 102 S. Second Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-4495
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tarrymore is Wilmington's only boutique hotel complete with spacious one & two bedroom suites accommodating up to 28 guests, a full service restaurant and patio designed exclusively for private dining and a formal ballroom for entertaining up to 200 guests. Upon arrival, you will immediately become a resident of Old Wilmington right alongside those in the many gracious homes surrounded by azaleas and quiet streets lined with live oaks and oleander. We are located only a few steps from our thriving downtown shopping and dining district with many live entertainment venues. So, plan your weekend getaway, private party, and wedding events at Hotel Tarrymore where you can catch the sunrise over our city and see the sunset over the Cape Fear River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing