We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time on the River”
Review of Sail Wilmington NC

Sail Wilmington NC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experienced captain Alan Held guides you on sailing tours, charters and lessons on the Cape Fear River. Starting from the Riverwalk in Downtown Wilmington, NC, You will explore the cultural and natural history of the area. A new perspective of the river, downtown and the New Hanover Memorial Bridge make the sunset tour a local favorite tour.
1 review
“A fun time on the River”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I took his mother out on Sail Wilmington on a Friday afternoon. What an adventure! Alan and Kate are fun to be with and give a lot of information about the river and some history along with sailing lessons! Very relaxing two hour sail with snacks and refreshments. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get out on the water. If you can get three couples together it would be lots of fun to do to celebrate an occasion or just get together and party! Thanks Alan and Kate, we will be back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank worthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
What a lovely Mother you have. It was nice to see her in her element "Sailing".

We enjoyed hearing of her experiences sailing on Lake Hopatcong in NJ. The same place my brother and I raced Jet 14's as kids; during about the same time she was there.

It's a small world. So wonderful to bring back to mind such great times.

All the best to you and your family,

Al and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had such a great time on our first sailing trip. Capt Al and Kaete were wonderful hosts!!! They made us feel like we were family. This was the highlight of our trip to North Carolina. We will definitely go sailing again the next time we visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngelaM62014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks for sailing with us. We feel the same way having you aboard. After the first few minutes you were no longer strangers.

For your friendliness we are grateful. Take care and keep up the fun factor.

Capt. Al and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of Willington trip”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Captain Al and first mate, Kate (she let's Al think he's in charge) were great hosts for a wonderful sunset cruise on the Cape Fear River. Our kids,12 & 14, loved it and learned some sailing tips along the way. Al and Kate are easy going and so accommodating. They had nice appetizers of cheese, crackers and grapes and soft drinks for us aboard. It was a great way to end our day in Willington and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a laid back, fun and interesting adventure. We all would do it again without hesitation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLMDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi. Your children are amazing. Smart and good sailors.
Oh. and by the way so are you "The Best Parents".

Your kids are lucky to have you and visa versa. The Perfect combo!
Anything you do together I 'm sure is a blast.

Affectionately,

Kaete and Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best sailing trip ever”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Captain Al and first mate kaete were amazing! So much fun! If anyone was looking for a good trip and fun experience this is it!!! Good aye mate!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarissaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Well Ladies, It is people like you that make our sailing pure joy. Thanks so much for allowing us be a part of your circle of family and friends.
Cheers to you,
Capt. Al and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“habit forming”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

this was our fifth sail with Captain Al and 1st Mate Kaete and it gets better each time. My brother John and his wife were visiting and joined us for a perfect day on the Cape Fear River. The Jammin never looked and performed as well as it did today. We learned things about the river that held our interest and added to our enjoyment of the fresh breezes and sunshine. We will always have good memories of this trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captalanheld, Owner at Sail Wilmington NC, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for keeping us in mind when you have company and special occasions. It is a pleasure to spend time with you and your family. Your brothers wife has such a great sense of humor. It is contagious.
Truly,
Alan and Kaete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Wilmington NC also viewed

 

Been to Sail Wilmington NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing