We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with--- Some Concerns”
Review of Shuckers Grill & Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Shuckers Grill & Oyster Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Adirondacks
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good with--- Some Concerns”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have been here several times and return for the good food, service and fair prices. This time we had a few problems with our meal. Cool soup, cold potatoes and one special request not handled well. We have pasted it off to a mad night like Denver had in this years Super Bowl.

The service was excellent and the waitress tried to make ammends with a free desert. One time is ok but not again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Impressed”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I moved to Wilmington in May of last year. I have tried many of the high end, well known restaurants in town only to be disappointed with the quality and pricing. I read several of the reviews and decided to try Shuckers for my mom's birthday. We could not have asked for a better experience. They were very busy but the service was excellent in spite of that. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. I am so excited to have finally found my favorite restaurant in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shuckers is an undiscovered treasure”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Casual, industrial classy decor. Great seafood but much more to offer.
My husband and I eat there quite often and I can not say I have had a bad meal and the service is excellent. Highly recommend the Salmon, Shrimp and Grits,
clam chowder, caribbean style chicken sandwich. I am on a restricted sodium diet and they are very helpful and willing to make changes to accommodate me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trc1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good food, very chain-restaurant feeling”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I know there are only 3 locations of this restaurant, but it definitely feels like a big chain restaurant. That being said,d the food was delicious, the wait staff were very good and the atmosphere was quite relaxed. I had a fresh fish catch with a homemade Jack Daniels sauce and it was delicious. The fries are even very good! When my food came out, I was disappointed at its size, but man did it fill me up!

We also had the crab dip...a MUST have for an appetizer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Salmon”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I tried the Salmon and loved it! Dim lit, sports atmosphere with way more options than just seafood. Clam chowder hit the spot too!

I'd go again.

Helpful?
Thank SalesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shuckers Grill & Oyster Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing