We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Have stayed at the Jameson several times over the course of the last year and half. Always clean, great staff, good breakfast and just overall a great place without killing your budget. This time was a little different..stayed with my family for Father's Day weekend and I have one suggestion. This is a pet friendly hotel which is great...I don't travel with mine but it's great that they allow pets as I know they are like family. But maybe set aside certain rooms for pets and some rooms without. I have allergies and they flared up the entire weekend. Kept getting a smell on occasion....not all the time from the air conditioner...smelled like a either a strong disinfectant or a urine. So just a suggestion that they do not put guests without pets in rooms where there have been pets. I will definitely stay again but will be mindful to check out the room first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanBrze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    56
    40
    17
    26
See reviews for
71
52
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda Run, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I booked an Express Deal thru Priceline. The Jameson Inn is the hotel I ended up with. After booking I immediately called the hotel to book double beds in a non smoking room. They would not, under any circumstances, guarantee this for me. I understand that it is Priceline's policy that this could be the case, but I have booked at least 10 other hotels thru their site and have NEVER had a problem with this. Due to the bad reviews I read, and their lack of customer service, I ended up not even using my reservation. Will not take any chances in the future like this and definitely would not willing choose to book at the Jameson Inn.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam108, General Manager at Jameson Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Kristi_n_barg,

I understand your frustration through your comments regarding the Jameson Inn Wilmington. When booking the Express Deals through Priceline, it does state that the room will accommodate up to 2 people and that bed type & smoking preference cannot be guaranteed and that you can contact the hotel to place any requests. We do put in all requests and do our best to honor those; however, we simply cannot guarantee room types & smoking preferences unless reservations are booked directly with the hotel or through our website. We receive many requests through the Priceline bookings and have limited rooms available to be able to honor them all. I am sorry that you did not use your reservation. We did honor your request ; as we try to do whenever possible and feel sure you would have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Good location. Booked through Priceline so we got a good rate.
Breakfast bar was nice.
The rooms need updating... especially the carpet and upholstered recliner.
Unfortunately the first night we had a problem with the cleanliness of the sheets... we called the front desk to alert them of the problem and they brought up a fresh set of sheets within 5 minutes... wasn't happy that I had to make the bed up myself at 11:00 at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam108, General Manager at Jameson Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Crowhill,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. First off, let me apologize for the mishap concerning your bed sheets. I am sorry if there was a cleanliness issue regarding your linen and have addressed this with my housekeeping staff. I am glad that my desk staff responded quickly with fresh linen; however, I am sorry that they did not change the bed for you and have addressed this as well. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location & breakfast bar.

We are going to be receiving new carpet and some furnishings during the coming months so that we may continue to upgrade our hotel for our valued guests. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed here through a hotwire deal. I was very pleased. The staff was friendly and location was convenient. The room was nothing out of the ordinary. But it was clean and a decent size. Also I liked that there was both a microwave and minfridge in the room. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were too small. Breakfast was a bit basic, but there was everything you might need. Including fruit, pastries, and boiled eggs. Overall a very good experience, especially given the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidN345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam108, General Manager at Jameson Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Davidn345


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. We are pleased you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and appreciated our friendly staff and location. We will take into advisement your comments regarding our breakfast & pillows and will take measures to improve in these areas. We hope to serve you again in the future.



Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel was very clean and had comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right near Market street which made it convenient to just about everything. There is also a a target, Walmart, and several restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tritons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam108, General Manager at Jameson Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Tritons2012


We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and the convenience of our location. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.



Sincerely,


Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Refused to guarantee a bed request prior to arrival! I am a customer service manager for a living and find it appalling that once a person has paid for their room they cannot tell you until you arrive what size bed/beds you will get! This should be a "first come first served situation" and they do not book that way. Never again!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanksgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jam108, General Manager at Jameson Inn Wilmington, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Yanksgrl

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you were not pleased with our policy regarding room type selections; however, we do guarantee bed types & smoking preferences when the reservations are made directly with the hotel or through the Jameson Inn website. When rooms are booked through third party web sites or promotional rate programs, we simply cannot guarantee the bed type or smoking preference of the room as these are assigned on the day of arrival based on what is available at the hotel. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future.


Stephanie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The woman at the front desk was fantastic. She checked us in quickly and even gave us a map to get to the Johnny Mercer Pier in Wrightsville Beach. The rooms were fantastic and extremely clean even for a smoking room which we requested and they gave to us with no problems. The lady working the third floor cleaning was absolutely a sweetheart. The hotel was easy to find, no issues at all. The location is fantastic in that this hotel is near EVERYTHING!!!! The Inn was quiet for the most part. The continental breakfast was to die for. It had anything you could think of. The waffles were really good. Will be back. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#26 of 44 in Wilmington
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#33 of 44 in Wilmington
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Wilmington

Property: Jameson Inn Wilmington
Address: 5102 Dunlea Ct, Wilmington, NC 28405-3476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jameson Inn Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jameson Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington Nc
Wilmington Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing