We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find by the River”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I just got back from Wilmington, NC for a wedding. The bridal party put a package of local option for out-of-town visitors, but I found the Wilmingtonian doing my own search. For 25% less than economy hotels in the area, my husband and I got a suite with a four poster bed, washer / dryer, full kitchen, and a sitting room. The location is a three minute walk from Cape Fear and all the great restaurants and shops in town and was six blocks from the wedding. The hotel had a small bar with bottle water, juices, granola bars, microwave popcorn, and plenty of local information. A really great time.

Room Tip: The suite is great for business and extended stay travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you very much. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We felt that the hotel was overpriced, you are paying for its location being close to the bars restaurants and waterfront. The staff were friendly. We picked the "Casablanca suite" as the photo's looked good on the web page but it was very basic and in need of a bit of TLC. The continental breakfast consisted of a muffin, cereal bars, yoghurt, fruit juice and fruit which you collected from reception and took back to your room to eat. We have never experienced a continental breakfast like this, its acceptable if you are staying for 1 or 2 nights but staying for 5 nights it becomes rather boring. Wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mildredaelliott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our staff.

I would like to address the rest of your review, however. The Casablanca suite has been painted, a new mattress put in, new carpet and counter tops - all added in the last three months. We are continuously sprucing up suites and there is almost never a time when at least one of them is getting a little TLC.

Our grab-and-go breakfast also consists of bottled water, tea, soda and juice and is absolutely free to guests all day long. For a prepared breakfast there are several great restaurants within a short walk that offer a wide variety of selections.

Our suites include a living room, bedroom and bathroom. The Casablanca (among others) also includes a kitchen. Throw in unlimited snacks and refreshments, free wireless internet and free parking in historic downtown Wilmington all at $109 per night and I'd say that's quite a bargain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We booked the Wilmingtonian having read reviews on Trip Advisor and the fact that it was pet friendly. The location of he hotel is ideal just a short walk or a trolley ride an you are I the town or walking along he river front. We had a room on he 2nd floor with a wonderful balcony and rocking chairs to relax on. The room was well appointed with all you would need to prepare a meal although I would say the cutlery, plates and glasses were not from one set. The bed was comfortable and we had a good view of one of the feature homes for the Azalea festival. I agree that maybe the breakfast items were slightly disappointing considering he room price however, we were happy with the yogurts and fruit juice. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for your suggestions. We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Wilmingtonian several times over the years. On my last visit they were booked and I did NOT enjoy my stay elsewhere as much! I love the ambiance and the privacy and the location cannot be beat. Not as expensive as a comparable B&B but much nicer than your typical hotel! If all works out I will have the pleasure of staying again over Memorial Day weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you so much! We're sorry that we couldn't accommodate you on your last visit, but we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Although the downtown Wilmington location is nice, the hotel itself was disappointing. The refrigerator in our room was not functioning properly and made a loud humming noise for most of the night. The bed was extremely hard. The "continental breakfast" consisted of nothing more than a few granola bars and a couple of apples and oranges. The service also seemed incredibly indifferent. Our shower apparently was leaking water onto the floor into the hallway, and when I was walking down the hall I almost did a header on a puddle that had developed. When we reported our issues, the desk person showed little sympathy or concern that our night had been so disappointing. I don't expect deluxe accommodations for $79 a night, but I do expect to be a little more comfortable than a servant from Downton Abbey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our hotel.

If we had known that the refrigerator was working improperly we would have been happy to unplug it and replace it with one from another unit.

And while we don’t recall having any negative feedback on this particular mattress, we appreciate you pointing out its firmness and we will look into replacing it.

We will also make a better effort to point out to guests all of the other free food and beverage items available during all office hours.

At check-out you had stated that you were unable to determine the source of the water on the floor, and unfortunately, as of yet, we have been unable to find any evidence of a water leak, but we will keep a close eye on this unit and quickly make any repairs as needed.

Lastly, we would like to thank you for pointing the items out to us. We count on guests like to inform us on how we can improve and we hope that you’ll give us another chance to show you all of the charm that the Wilmingtonian has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

If you are looking for someting other than the chain motel/hotels, The Wilmingtonian is a good choice. Older and charming, it provided us with easy access to the historic district, a pleasant room on a courtyard with complete kitchenette and everything we needed. Not for those who want stainless steel and slick surroundings, I would describe it as between a B&B and hotel. The price was great and we don't use fitness centers and pools, etc. My husband and I enjoyed our nice quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dram Tree section and was on the courtyard but you might want to check the location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you so much for these kind words! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend, and we were very pleased. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and cozy. There was a big comfy bed, a fireplace and jacuzzi. We will definitely be going back and requesting The Captains Quarters.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halfbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £89 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing