We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Park your car and spend the rest of your visit on foot or on the free trolley that runs through town. The hotel consists of 3 buildings, we stayed in the Cinema. The one bedroom suites are perfect to relax -- rockers on each unit's front porch -- and fairly large with fully equipped kitchens, and washer/dryer. It is older, there is no pool, but it has a lovely garden and it is spotless with current amenities such as flat screen tv. Both Pam, behind the desk, and Elaine, in housekeeping, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. When not enjoying the Riverwalk or historic attractions, we were a 20 minute drive from Wright's Beach and not much further to the ferry south of Carolina Beach. A really great spot.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the individual flair and theme of the Cinema building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Cinema House. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in The Wilmingtonian last September. ( I forgot to review it then).

I booked us a suite in the Cinema House. Car parking was free, and just across the small side road. We were on the upper floor, so had one flight of stairs. The suite was well furnished. Maybe slightly old fashioned, but all seemed clean and the appliances worked just fine

We had a lounge area, a full kitchen, bathroom with washing machine and a bedroom. There was a small table and chairs on the balcony.

Breakfast was a help yourself deal. There was coffee, muffins, cereal bars, fruit and fruit juices. This was down in the room next to reception - so no problem just popping down to collect it and take it back to our balcony.

Location was key. It is just one block back from the riverfront. There are many restaurants and bars within a minute's walk. Yet the night times weren't too noisy to sleep.

We really enjoyed our stay here - and would have stayed longer if we weren't on such a short visit. If we come to the area again I will definitely consider booking to stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Cinema house were, I think, the largest. Our room was on the end of the row, so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

So glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our lovely downtown. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great find in historic Wilmington. The location is nice and everything is within walking distance. The rooms are a little old but being in the historic district it's expected for things to be dated but it was still clean. The only issue is that the ac went out in the middle of the night. With that being said it still wouldn't stop us from staying here if we were ever in town again. The location and value for what you get is excellent and the little snack bar with drinks is a nice touch too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for kind review. We were sorry to hear that your air conditioner went out during your stay. The unit has since been repaired. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I stay in a lot of places and this a great value and they clearly value their customers. ..we were a walk in and she made every effort to make us welcome and make sure we were happy....wish every hospitality based company would take their approach..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are glad to hear that you felt so welcome at our inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked this over the internet because it looked charming and I was not disappointed. The placeturned out to be lovely and we got to park right out front. Our room was up above a well-manicured courtyard and we were delighted by tables to sit at in a raised gazebo and rocking chairs in front of our door on the porch. The room was small but well-equipped with a living room area and desk, and a stocked kitchenette in addition to our bedroom and bathroom. The hotel was also right across the street from a market and super close to the riverfront and restaurants. I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay for what I paid. I will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT_Girl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time staying with us! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was there for the Under The Dome premiere and I was floored with how beautiful the hotel is. Very nice room. Great comfortable bed to sleep in and quiet.

The staff was very nice to this guy from Vegas who felt like a fish out of water in Wilmington.

The closeness to the waterfront was great. Will for sure stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Great to hear from you again and we're glad that you had a good time in Wilmington. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've been coming here for years because I LOVE this one room's ambiance, and the hotel's location. The staff is generally efficient and kind, tho one year, I saw apathy in one of the staff members.

I get the DRAM room. It has three floors. You open the door, and it's such a cool room. Wooden floors, brick wall. Little kitchenette with a dining area. You step down into a sucken livingroom with a loooooong fat couch that rests against a long brick wall. You go up a bunch of stairs to a tiny bedroom. Bed is comfortable, closet is sizable, and there's a small dresser and a sit-furnature piece with a mirror to put make-up on. Other than that, there's very little furniture.

The bathroom has a tub with a permanent stain around the drain, and a ity-bity tiny sink. There's room to put your stuff on a ledge they supply, and a fat window sill.

GOOD POINTS:
-- Such cool design, has character
-- Excellent location within walking distance to everything
-- Dog friendly (!!)
-- Pleasant staff, for the most part

PROBLEMS:
-- They don't stock the kitchen. I was shocked to see that there were only two plates, about 5 mis-matched glasses, literally 3 knives, 3 forks, and 2 spoons. There are a few pots and pans. No pot holders, tho there's an oven. Most of the cupboards are bare. Maybe they have a problem with people stealing dishes and such. If that's the case, then maybe they should take inventory, and charge guests if they steal.

-- Don't walk barefoot on the wooden floors, or you'll get black feet.

-- While the bed sheets were clean and the towels were plush and fresh, the cleaning crew hadn't cleaned the floors or wall trimming in years. I worried a little about sitting on the couch.

-- College kids walk by until 2am and are LOUD. There's nothing the hotel can do about this. Wilmington is a thriving town, and this didn't really bother me, as I slept thru it. But if you want quiet at night, ahh... ya' ain't gonna' get it here.

All in all, I love this place, and will be back, dirty feet and all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We take your opinion seriously. Please know that we are looking into the issues you listed and will take the appropriate actions to fix them. We would like to take this opportunity to address a few of the items that you mentioned.

The particular suite you reference here is the Railroad suite. It is one of seven suites located in the Dram Tree House. Several of the items that you pointed out only apply to this particular suite. It is the only suite on property with the split-level design that you described. Because of its unique layout and location, we are always up front with guests whenever booking this suite. None of the other suites have this issue with noise, which is generally only an issue on weekends in the summer. So, we have some guests who absolutely love this suite and others who would rather stay in one of the other suites on property. Most are very quiet even on the busiest weekends. Part of the ambiance of the Dram Tree house are the pedestal sinks which, unfortunately, don't provide much storage space. We've tried to provide shelving where possible.

Over the years we have found that most of our guests don't use the kitchens very much for cooking, so rather than stocking every room with an entire kitchen set we keep a few of the lesser used items (pots, blenders, colanders, graters, etc.) stored away. We would have happily provided them had you asked.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £90 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing