We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Envy of the wedding party”
Review of The Wilmingtonian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wilmingtonian
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Wilmingtonian for friend's desitnation wedding. While it wasn't on the list of hotels with blocked rooms, the rates were actually better than those affiliated with the wedding. Other friends were staying in neighboring hotels and we by far had the best value. The hotel was located within easy walking distance of all the wedding events, as well as the riverfront, water taxi and some great resturants and bars.
The rooms are all very quaint suites that embrace the city's waterfront heritage. The crabtrap coffee table was very cool. A kitchenette was great for having friends over for drinks before and after wedding events.
This place is run by laid-back locals, who take pride in their jobs and love the city. While the lobby and its continental breakfast are very simple, we were never left wanting more. As an added bonus the hotel is very dog friendly (which didn't apply to us on this trip) but if I ever come back, staying here will be a no-brainer.

Room Tip: The kitchenette amenities run from very basic to full scale. If you plan on an extended trip and lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very much for this great review! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

stayed here for one night on a quick overnight stay as part of a US road trip vacation. The hotel has a great location a short walk away from all down town attractions and restaurants.
We were offered a reasonable rate turning up without prior booking and very friendly welcoming reception. Lovely room with great facilities - full kitchen and washing machine/dryer so ideal for a longer stay. The balcony was shared and a little noisy as there were other guests enjoying a wedding party but the inside accommodation was quite. Very spacious apartment with separate bedroom. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor above reception - nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for this kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived in Wilmington on a Monday having spent the weekend in Myrtle Beach and heading back towards Charlotte. We had no accommodation booked and the tourist office gave us details of a few places. We liked the look of The Wilmingtonian and got a good deal. The check in staff were helpful and friendly. The room was more of an apartment, with a lounge, kitchen, fridge etc and washing machine. It opened on to a courtyard which was very pretty. There was free wifi and also free snacks in the reception area. The location was quiet and free parking was available. The shower was great, really powerful. The only downside was that the bed and floors were a bit creaky, but that added to the atmosphere.

Great hotel, great location, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for choosing us. It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time on your visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I decided to travel to Wilmington at the last minute for a weekend getaway and the Wilmingtonian did not disappoint! The hotel's accommodations are located in three restored buildings situated around a courtyard. My room, or small suite, was located in the Maritime House. The hotel is very reminiscent of a New Orleans or Savannah property. There is a guest pantry located off the lobby area where breakfast items and snacks are available complimentary for guests. This is a unique, atmospheric property that I would easily return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I found this spot through Trip advisor and all the reviews were accurate. I stayed in the middle building (i forget what the name was) in room 25 which was a corner suite. And i have forgotten to note the location to the riverfront was wonderful!

My first impression on entering reception was fantastic. The clerk was very helpful and the reception are wasvery clean and had an old world charm. The clerk let me know that they had a full complement of snacks available for freeas long as the office was open (until 11 p.m.). I figured water, pretzels or something like that, i was wrong,coke, diet coke, water, yogurt, orange juice, bottled water, rice krispy treats, apples, bananas, even home made brownie bites! it was very well stocked.
The fact that they also provide parking was wonderful. They also provide free wi-fi.

The courtyard leading to my room was wonderful, and lit up very well even atnight. I loved the rockers on the porch outside each room. My room was really a three room suite. Upon entering there was a small table with two chairs to the right and a large very comfortable couch to the left. The cooking area was pretty well stocked and if i had wanted to cook it woukd have had most everything i would need.

The bathroom was very clean and neat, and being all white decor anything dirty wiuld have stood out. The floors were so clean i could have eaten off of them. The decor was absolutely charming. Pedestal sink, nice thick towels spotless tubs!

The bedroom was akso very nicelt decorated and the sheets (unlike chain hotels or motels) were crisp and immacukate. Plenty of pillows provided and even extra blankets and pillows in the full size cliset (which even had a shoe rack and iron in it!)

Again overall this was a wonderful experience and I will be coming back!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank ladybug1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! The building that you stayed in was the Maritime House and we agree that it is full of charm! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Wilmington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our suite in the Cinema building was really an apartment, ie, kitchen, livingroom, bedroom, and bathroom with washer and dryer. Flat screen tvs in livingroom and bedroom and very comfortable king size bed. The reception area provides water and juice, muffins, granola bars, etc all day long - gratis. The River Walk is just down the block as are many restaurants, shops, and historic homes. A short ride takes you to Wright's Beach. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the balconey. Hate to be closed in without outside access. We were pleased with our stay. Weekday prices are a real bargain. The price increased about 50% on the weekend. Do not be discouraged by "no elevator". There is one for luggage. Visit Airlie Garden while in town. And, free and easy parking were a plus.

Room Tip: The Cinema deluxe suite for an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHudsonValleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

It's wonderful to hear that you had a great time during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Park your car and spend the rest of your visit on foot or on the free trolley that runs through town. The hotel consists of 3 buildings, we stayed in the Cinema. The one bedroom suites are perfect to relax -- rockers on each unit's front porch -- and fairly large with fully equipped kitchens, and washer/dryer. It is older, there is no pool, but it has a lovely garden and it is spotless with current amenities such as flat screen tv. Both Pam, behind the desk, and Elaine, in housekeeping, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. When not enjoying the Riverwalk or historic attractions, we were a 20 minute drive from Wright's Beach and not much further to the ferry south of Carolina Beach. A really great spot.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the individual flair and theme of the Cinema building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 404Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich1102, Front Office Manager at The Wilmingtonian, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Cinema House. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmingtonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmingtonian

Address: 101 S 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4401
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#18 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £89 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilmingtonian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in historic, downtown Wilmington surrounded by beautifully restored 19th-century homes and tree-lined neighborhoods, the meticulously renovated Wilmingtonian Inn extends an invitation to unwind, relax, and absorb the romantic ambiance of Cape Fear Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilmingtonian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington
Wilmingtonian Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing