We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value! Would stay again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value! Would stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in early August for less than $65 a night! It is just off a main street near strip malls but at no point did we feel unsafe. The rooms were spacious and clean. I have to admit after I read the reviews here I was really skeptical but couldn't beat the price! I didn't see any bugs anywhere. The staff were friendly. It is also not too far from downtown. I would definitely stay here because it was a great value!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    32
    27
    60
See reviews for
53
24
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

It's in a bad area near the ghetto. Drove around a little and went a few street behind it and I couldn't drive out of there fast enough. One of those areas where you wonder if you'll be shot at driving through or robbed. It is a older hotel. Lots of wear and tear. Checked for any sort of bugs when I got there (flashlight and all) and didn't see anything. The bathtub was terribly stained with blackdirty stuff on the bottom and had hair on it where it obviously hadn't been properly cleaned. The beds looked descent enough. While getting ready for bed, I saw a roach on the floor dead that hadn't been there earlier and it looked like it had crawled out of a crack next to it and died. That's when I thought to myself "the reviews about having bugs are true and I should have listened to my gut and not stayed." The night was terrible due to being so close to the highway/Market Street. Lots of loud music from the cars all night and the morning was no better with us being right next to the breakfast area. Breakfast wasn't too bad though for the price of the rooms. My children enjoyed a danish and muffins with orange juice. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Next time I will be staying far away from this part of town though and it will not be at any Howard Johnson Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBeautifulChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was so cheap and I read some bad reviews so I was pleasantly surprised when I found it clean enough, neat, everything functioned, bed was comfortable, staff pleasant, nothing distasteful. Felt like a few cuts above the typical 2 star facility. Don't expect much from breakfast but there was cereal and toast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, VA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

While their advertised rate was $70/night, you can easily get this on the internet for at least 15-20% off of that. With that discount, it's almost an acceptable deal. I stayed by myself for a couple of days.

I checked the bed for bugs and was impressed with how clean they actually were --given the condition of the rest of the room. The reviews here (dating back to 2005) about the need for serious renovations/major cleaning/updates are not exaggerations. This room is the dirtiest and dingiest room I have ever encountered. Some old wallpaper and an old bathroom don't bother me, but a dirty bathtub and serious carpet stains combined with filthy cabinets made me start to regret my booking. The AC was not on when I arrived at 4pm on a 97 degree day, and it took two hours to get the room to a reasonable temperature. That irritated me.

I did not sample the breakfast, but I gathered that I didn't miss much. The location is actually pretty good. There's a bunch of fast food (Bojangles, chinese takeout, Sonic, Burger King, etc) joints, a gas station with a well-stocked mini-mart, and a nice movie theater all within walking distance. With a car, you're close to everything in Wilmington proper. Not much beats Market Street. The location does look like it's pretty rough if you are new to the are. It really isn't... you should feel safe walking around after dark. Also, I found the staff to be plenty friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yankee_grits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Bedbugs, bedbugs, bedbugs! Don't waste your time and money on this crappy hotel. You would think with it being a chain, it would be clean and decent but instead you get the total opposite. Nasty, unbearable, and just plain gross.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hct510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
295 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

On a number of occasions I have stayed at this budget friendly motel. I also put up some construction workers here. All of us felt this was a very decent place to stay. Along Market Street there are many budget friendly motels. Decided to stay here because of the price. Really, for as much as I travel, I really liked this place. The location is quite handy to several areas of Wilmington. I imagine a lot of people come to town for the beach, and the beach is only a 10 minute drive from here, PLUS, this motel is 1/3 the price. Yes, the motel is older, but a lot of these types of motels are. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was very pleased with this motel. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful, efficient and pleasant. The continental breakfast was limited, but fresh and good quality. I don't think you can ask for more for the price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#40 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#32 of 45 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
Address: 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Wilmington
Wilmington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing