We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Room was a bit clean, though we did find a cockroach in the fridge, but I'm willing to forgive that since we never found it. Clean beds and bathroom, though everything is outdated. Wifi actually worked but was a bit slow, and breakfast was just pastries an was rather bare, though the b.f. Room was nice, i supposed i just arrived when the food was gone. Overall just a place to spend the night, nothing special about it, and fairly prices. I'd say a 7.3/10

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justarandomstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM329, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I want to assure you that we respond promptly to pest alerts with expert extermination services and also treat to deter pests on a regular scheduled basis. I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy the breakfast options, and I want to let you know that we take your suggestions to heart and are reconsidering the available choices. We hope to see you again soon, to give you another wonderful nights' sleep, and to impress you with the improvements to our amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has seen better days. We were in a dated end unit and it was kind of scary down there. The room looked clean but there was mold on the bathroom ceiling. Since we arrived after midnight and there wasn't anything else available, we sucked it up and stayed. The free Rise & Dine continental breakfast was a joke.

Room Tip: If you dare to stay, get a room towards the fron of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM329, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay. I Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties that you experienced and we thank youfor bringing these matters to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Well we stayed in a non smoking room and honestly it smelt like someone just had a cigarette in the room when we first walked in. Room are extremely dirty and old. We woke up in the morning and found out that we woke up to a crime scene in the room next to us....honestly I will never go back to this place ever again. Definitely not a safe hotel or cleanly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missnikki5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM329, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2015

I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our hotel. . I am so sorry to hear that you did not feel safe during your most recent stay with us, and I want to assure you that we take the security of our guests very seriously. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. Your comments help us to see where we need to improve and we appreciate that you have taken the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Clyde P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I usually stay at cheap hotels when I travel alone so I expected these conditions. I would not subject anyone else to this hotel. This was one of the cheapest that I could find in the area even though they jacked up the prices for the UNCW graduation weekend. There was one cheaper but this hotel said they had a continental breakfast. They did not have one unless it was very early. I didn't care by that point. I just wanted to check out. The carpet was filthy and should have been replaced 10 years ago. I was afraid to take my shoes off.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana_b1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The check in is was good. The staff was kind and helpful. However, when I attempted to make the initial reservation, no one ever picked up the phone. When I checked in, I found out why. As I was checking in, the phone began to ring and the clerk never acknowledged it. She let the phone ring and ring. Good ethics would have said to pick the phone up and acknowledge the caller politely and put them on hold.
The room was good. We had two beds, mini-fridge and microwave. The pipes in the shower felt like they were going to be pulled out of the wall when turning on the faucet or adjusting the shower head because they were so loose.
We could never get connected to the 'free WiFi' due to you had to have a code of some sort. This defeats the purpose of advertising 'free WiFi' and no code was ever offered to us.
The breakfast was non-existent with really no room to eat. It was in the lobby of the hotel which was small to begin with. Most other hotels have a separate place to eat which is large enough to seat 10-15 people minimum.
Other than those issues, it was a pleasant stay. I provided us a place to sleep and a hot shower. I have stayed at other hotels within the same price range which had a better breakfast variety and WiFi connections. It is due to those things that I can not give it a higher rating than two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Alfred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was actually our second and third visit to this Howard Johnson. We have always been pleased with our stays there. The management is very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are nice, quiet and clean when we arrive. Have had no problems whatsoever. We would and will recommend this hotel to all our friends and relatives. Oh, and we like the close proximity to everything!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#37 of 45 in Wilmington
139 reviews
1 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
230 reviews
4.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
#34 of 45 in Wilmington
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 45 in Wilmington
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington

Address: 3901 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Wilmington
Wilmington Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing