We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Riverview Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverview Suites
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed over the weekend and it was wonderful! The location is awesome and you have a great view of the battleship from the balcony. The room feels more like an apartment than a hotel! We didn't drive the entire weekend because everything was so close! My only problem is that the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors tv's sometimes but other than that the place was awesome.

Room Tip: The better rooms are the higher level rooms. Probably floors 6-8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and review.
Riverview Suites is a great place to stay and we are glad you got to enjoy it. I only wish we had more units to rent.

We hope you come back soon to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
43
65
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We just spent a great weekend at the Riverview Suites on the 5th floor. The suite was very spacious and we really liked having a separate living room.

My only negative comments - It would have been nice to know is that you need to check in at the Hilton across the street. We only found this out once we drove up and down the street a few times and happened to ask the bell man at the Hilton if he knew where to go. This should be on the website or reservation confirmation. There is not a sign that says Riverview Suites anywhere on the building. Also, they charge you $9 a day for parking in a public lot next door that only would cost $5 if you paid for it through the parking meter. We were not told of this charge, just saw it on our bill.

Overall, a great place and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, the higher floor rooms have a better view. Also, some rooms have been ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and honest feedback.

Unfortunately we can not put signage on the building,
however we have addressed the issue of check in information on the confirmation, so thank you for that note.
The parking rate next door for $5 is a day rate, not overnight. As I am sure you saw while you were here parking is in high demand- so we do charge $9.00 overnight. This is comparable to our neighboring overnight lots.

We do appreciate the input and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and i love Wilmington and have visited several times. We have stayed at the riverview suites three times over the last two years. What we primarily like it for is the homey feeling it gives you. (We call it our apartment in the city) The room is set up just like an apartment, with a bedroom that has a ceiling fan and a very comfortable bed. Then you have a short hallway that leads into your living area and a small kithenette. The kitchen has utensils and glassware, also a coffee pot. The best part though, is the balcony overlooking Cape Fear river. The view is the best, we always request top floors. Our last visit was over 4th of July, and the fireworks were awesome! Do keep in mind, you are in the city and this is a college town and the noise level sometimes can be high from the bars and restaurants that are so close by. But you are there to enjoy city living and also have the beaches just 10 mints away! So enjoy!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyesMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Awww, I love this review!
So glad we could host your second home :). Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. I had frequently visited that area but never stayed here before. Since the purpose of the trip was to celebrate our five year anniversary, I emailed the hotel to ask specifically for the highest room possible for a great view (something I had read in many reviews). We were pleasently surprised by how nice our room was! We were on the 6th floor and directly in front the the battlship. The whole condo was nicely decorated and had these awesome dual head ceiling fans. I had never seen them beofre we we loved them. However, our friends that joined us for a day were put in a room on the ground level which had far less nice decor and they also were subjected to the 2am bar closing noise. Moral of the story is that this place has some wonderful things to offer, as long as you get a high room. :) We would stay again.

Room Tip: 609 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosephGoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your review. Happy Anniversary! we do hope you come back for the next one.
As for your friends- we do have consistency with room decor, some homeowners have certain amenities hat other may not- I appreciate your review and we have we have gone through all the lower units to upgrade anything that seemed dated.

We hope you all return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I live in Wilmington and booked a room at Riverview Suites for my family who was visiting over the 4th of July. When I booked the room, I specifically stated that I was booking it so that we could enjoy the annual fireworks from the balcony. When I arrived (at the HILTON across the street) I was given a room on the second floor. I questioned this and was told that that was all they had. The staff at the Hilton pretty much acted like they did not want to deal with the whole thing and were not at all helpful. So, my daughter and I went over to the suite to check it out. Not only was it on the second floor, but there was a palm tree right in front of the balcony! No view at all!

The rooms are okay. Except for the living room, all of the rooms are very dark because there are no windows. The bathroom was kind of run down and the linens were not nice at all. A HUGE problem while we were there were the elevators. The only way to get up to the rooms is via the elevator. The stairs lock from the inside when the door is closed. On July 4, the housekeeping staff filled the elevators with laundry and trash while they were cleaning and for HOURS and the elevators were not usable. It was absolutely ridiculous. Of course, then we were kind of glad to be on the second floor because my brother was able to climb up over the railing to the second floor and go around to the stairs and let us in! (which is actually a safety issue--you have to use your room key to access the elevators, but it is very easy to climb up to the second floor and access the entire building). People were lined up forever trying to get on the elevator and everyone was rightfully angry.

I will never book at this hotel again. I wanted to do something special for my whole family and it ended up being a bit of a nightmare. Just stay at the Hilton. It is less expensive and they probably won't treat you as badly if you are actually staying in their hotel.

Room Tip: INSIST on an upper room! Do not accept a room with an obstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathbycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We do try to honor all special requests when we receive them, Sometimes on very busy nights (like the 4th of July) it is difficult to honor everything- especially when most guests are requesting high floors. We have addressed the response you got from the staff and have passed on the information about housekeeping. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention. It will only make us better for the next guest!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilmington hotels

Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We found the Riverview Suites to be the perfect place for a recent visit to Wilmington. Be aware of the following: 1) No where on the building does it say Riverview Suites, it is actually called Water Street Center 2) You check in at the Hilton which manages the property 3) The building is a mixture of full-time owner/occupants and short term visitors staying in individually owned units managed by the Hilton so you may encounter a noisy owner/occupant as we did when we stayed in unit 510 (ask for a different unit) 4) the Hilton's computer showed a rate $20 higher per night than what our confirmation showed - they honored ours of course. Hilton maintenance took care of noisy A/C unit right away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager08033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your review and recent stay. You are absolutely correct about the signage. Because it is a completely separate ownership, it is called "Water Street Center" . We instituted the "Riverview Suites" part to name the units we do manage.

I apologize you had a noise issue- We do have security monitor the units, specifically for this reason. We do appreciate you making us aware. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

After we checked in at the Hilton, we were directed to the covered parking area next to the building (our parking, unlike other reviewers, was free) We were given a room on the 9th floor...wow..when we walked in and saw the view, we were very happy! It was Memorial Day and directly in front of us was the USS North Carolina and there were lots of people on the deck along with a military band playing patriotic music. It's like we had our own private concert! Late in the afternoon my husband told me to come out to the balcony...directly in front of us were two tugboats guiding a huge tanker/freighter down the Cape Fear River...that was very cool!

The condo was great...it was very clean. There were large flat screen TV's in the LR and BR. The king bed had a memory foam type mattress...very comfortable. We didn't use the kitchen but the basics were there (plates, silverware, pans.) The bathroom was a good size and the towels were nice and thick...not like the see-through ones you see at other chain hotels.

We would recommend this property to anyone who wants to experience downtown Wilmington with a fantastic river view.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank It'sTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Riverview Suites, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
What a great response! Could not have described the property any better! We hope you come stay with us again soon! The down town concert series runs throughout the summer and the Condos are a great place to kick back and enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 44 in Wilmington
225 reviews
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Suites

Property: Riverview Suites
Address: 106 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3954
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverview Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing