We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels that I've stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Couldn't have asked for anything else. Rooms very nice, the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. I was working in the area, this location allowed me to do my job and visit the beach. A good value for your dollar. If ever in the area again, I will stay here fod sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The manager (Patel) and his wife are exceptionally rude, especially to women. The elevators smell like a hellish mixture of curry and urine. According to the manager, if you stay here to visit family, your family is not allowed into the building unless they book a room. I recommend staying elsewhere unless management is changed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ncfederal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HP P, Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for talking time to post a review for our hotel. I do apologize for your inconvenience. Hotel amenities like pool, spa, fitness center, guest laundry available for register guests only. Hotel does not have any problem with visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

After a treacherous stay at a days inn in selma, nc last year on our way to the beach, this hotel was a breath of fresh air. Hotel was what looked to be newly remodeled and was squeaky clean. We also got a discounted rate from a travel book at the NC welcome center. A great choice for your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My new husband and I spent our wedding night & honeymoon at this Best Western. I also was able to check in early to dress for our beach wedding. The manager went above and beyond to make sure that our every need was met. The room was wonderful, clean and had every amenity we could've hoped for. There was even a clock that had a "white noise" feature, to drown out unwanted noise from outside our room. We stayed in the king size/hot tub room. Money very well spent! The only glitch in our stay was the fact that our toilet quit working. We reported it to the front desk as we left for dinner; when we returned it was fixed. The breakfast buffet was much better than most "free breakfast" hotels. In addition to the regular fare there was also waffles, eggs and hot cereal. The location is perfect, only minutes from the beach and every type of food or shopping nearby. We will surely be back, especially since this hotel will always hold a special place for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, as the front side faces a busy road. The back is much...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKelly519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a nice hotel, centrally located to downtown Wilmington, UNCW, and Wrightsville Beach. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping centers close by and it's easy to get back on the highway. The rooms are clean with fridge, HDTV, iron, a comfortable bed and wireless internet. Breakfast was above average with choice of cereal, some hot food, waffles, toast, juice, milk amongst other things. Overall a nice place to stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: If you can book through Expedia or Hotwire you may get a lower price.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yellowman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HP P, Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I do appreciate for your time to fill out review .
hope to see you when you in town next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011. The room was very clean and the decor was nice as well. The restaurant next door was simply amazing! Would definitely stay at this location again. The girl at the front desk was awesome. She has the perfect personally.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerzegirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Now that this is a Best Western it is very clean, the pool was great (although a little cool). The towels and sheets were good quality and the staff was pleasant. Convenient to Carolina Beach, Wrightsville Beach also fairly close. Shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OHGrandmax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.9 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Address: 5600 Carolina Beach Rd, Wilmington, NC 28412 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Ameri Stay Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing