We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is updated and very clean. The pool are is very nice. There's a patio just outside the front if you just want to chill out. Parking is free and abundant. The rooms are clean. We had 2 double beds and they were comfortable. Bathrooms are tight but you can manage. Coffee is always on hand and breakfast is free and decent. If your room faces Carolina Beach Road and you like having your windows open you will certainly hear traffic. Close the window and it's not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coconut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    114
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
162
104
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Never have to wait at check in and staff is awesome. They treat everyone like family and call me by name when I arrive and thru out my stay. I travel often and this is by far the best hotel stay of them all. I would stay no where else in Wilmington,NC. If you must be away from home this is the hotel to make you feel most welcome. And you can walk anywhere downtown on the boardwalk which connects with the hotel. Whats not to love

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Front staff was very friendly, they honored the price we found online per night which was about $10 per night cheaper. The room was very nice, towels were clean, sheets were clean, etc. It's about a 20 minute drive to Carolina/Kure Beach, which is not bad. The rooms were updated. The only thing I didn't like was the smaller the bathroom, but I could handle it. I left the Seven Seas Inn (which I do NOT recommend to anyone) and found this place, I was pleasantly surprised to have such a clean room when I opened the door. The breakfast was decent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room was wonderful! Located very close to downtown Wilmington, only about a 15-20 drive. Very clean inside and out. Ice machines on all floors, beds very comfortable. We had a king size room. This was a smoking room that did not smell at all!!! The outside area by the pool was great to sit outside. They have tables with umbrella's. The breakfast was very good. Lots of food to pick from. I would recommend this hotel for staying in the area. Lots of restrauants around the hotel and on the way to Wilmington lots to pick from.I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

smelled of cigarettes and chlorine HARD beds cramped rooms looks like some painting and updating of decor to make it seem like a nice hotel Pool/jacuzzi was right at front lobby door...weird. security room key entrance in back did not work half the time (not good when it is raining) room keys looked old and wore out. set air conditioner to 65...still hot

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was nice clean and is located in a good area. Loved the indoor pool and hot tub. Great free breakfast. Would recommend this hotel. The only downside is the bathrooms are not very senior friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I've been there three different occasions on the past 6 months and always had a great experience. The place is very clean, looks new, comfort is up to the par. Breakfast is great if you are a good morning eater

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank allextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Address: 5600 Carolina Beach Rd, Wilmington, NC 28412-2608 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Ameri Stay Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing