We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, good value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
“Nice, good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had family (spouse and child) with me for a quick business trip. Our room was very clean, with everything working. The sink and mirror were in the bedroom, while the bath/shower were closed off in separate bathroom. While this is helpful if you have several people needing to get ready at once, it is problematic if you have one person up early and using a hair dryer while everyone else is trying to sleep. They also had a nice pool and exercise room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Femtraveller, thank you for your "nice" review of our Best Western Plus only minutes from 2 different beaches. We are so happy you enjoyed all of our amenities such as our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and our fitness center. Our staff truly appreciates your recognition also. Hope to see you again next time travel brings you to the Wilmington/Carolina Beach area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    114
    38
    22
    19
See reviews for
163
104
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

After a long day of driving and the complete run around from Hotels.com we happened to drive by Best Western Plus Wilmington Inn just after midnight and decided to see if they had a vacancy and if we could afford it. We walked in exhausted and annoyed and were met by Ronald at the front desk who greeted us like we were old friends he had been waiting for. Not only did he have a vacancy but he told us, "ladies don't worry about a thing I will take good care of you" and he did. The room was new, spotless and modern. The beds were comfortable and clean. It was truly a wonderful experience all around. If we ever come to Carolina Beach again I won't stay anywhere else. HP you got a good thing here!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wealthanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you wealthanne for taking the time to hare your guest experience with fellow tripadvisor contributors. It was our pleasure to earn your business. We appreciate the kind words regarding the stellar customer service of Ronald at the front desk and of our beautiful hotel. Come back and see us again! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in the past at this facility. Loved it. Clean, friendly staff, close to everything. Breakfast foods great. Will stay again when in Wilmington, NC. Recommend to anyone who is looking for a clean, up to date hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 79calvinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
79calvinw, thank you for your fantastic feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our award winning Best Western Plus in Wilmington/Carolina Beach. As always, it was our pleasure to earn your business. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent value and close enough to Carolina Beach to avoid the traffic but convenient to all points of interest in Wilmington and Wrightsville. The staff was very friendly and went the extra mile to locate one of their hotels in Raleigh for me when I inquired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank debras838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSWilmington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Debras838 you are so kind for sharing your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach experience with the entire TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations as well as our friendly and helpful staff. We hope you choose to stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this Best Western last summer and when it came time to make a reservation for this year there was no question about where to stay. We found every aspect of this hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely, but more importantly clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. There were 2 sets of curtains at the windows - one allowed us to block out the sun to take a great afternoon nap after our long drive, the second let the beautiful Carolina sunshine in. The pool area had great seating and plenty of towels. There was a slight chill to the pool water which was addressed immediately when it was brought to the attention of the staff. We also enjoyed the gym since the breakfast was so plentiful and tasty. For dinner we walked to Ihop which was one business away. We are looking forward to our stay there at the end of this week - I think this place has become part of our beach trip traditions!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pros......Customer service was impeccable. My biggest observation...Not once did we see an employee using a cell phone or any type of gadget (at anytime during the day, even at 1:00 am). I love technology, but it's become a major downfall as far as customer services goes, allowing employees way too much opportunity to half work/half play. Again, never witnessed this even once. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed the indoor pool. The grounds were well groomed, almost immaculate. The value was very good, approx. $525 for 4 weekday nights. Breakfast was the typical extended continental type with a few hot items.
Cons.....When we arrived, the refrigerator had been cut off leaving a big pool of water in the top freezer portion. In trying to determine the problem, I had to look behind the entertainment center where I noticed 2 dirty Kleenex and some type of plastic wrapper. This remained there during our entire stay (room 221). There seems to be a mold type issue around the hot tub area, but I can certainly understand a dilemma keeping this clear and free due to the high humidity. Those were the only negatives. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLabs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to the hotel until we checked out the staff was ready to assist in making our stay perfect. Clean rooms, pool and common areas. Breakfast was light but enough choices that we were not eating the same thing every morning. Looking forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod & Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Address: 5600 Carolina Beach Rd, Wilmington, NC 28412-2608 (Formerly Ameri-Stay Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Ameri Stay Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing