We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This Mainstay was awesome... The staff was very friendly and courteous, The breakfast was good, and the rooms were very cleaned and spacious. The gym and outside patio was very nice as well, Bottomline, a great hotel with a great price.

A well recommended hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms in 1st floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricanranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Director of Sales at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review - we love hearing that you had such a great experience at our hotel!

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
38
14
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Due to the staff and policies, I WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN. I made a reservation thru Hotwire, noting that I would need handicap parking and accessibility, which they said was no problem. Although check-in wasn't until 3:00, my husband was in town and went to the office before 9:00 am to see if earlier time was available. They has us set up for a smoking room, which we did not request and asked if they would give us a non-smoking room. Since the resv was not made thru them directly, they said we don't get that choice and would not give us a non-smoking room, though I told them I was allergic. On our second night, when we got back to the hotel from dinner, there were no handicap spaces, or any spaces open in the entire parking lot. The desk clerk said we could drive around to the back lot of the hotel next to them and park there. Because of my mobility handicap, my husband asked if we could park in the circular drive for the night, since there was another car parked there. She said no, and that it was her car in the drive. So it was more important for an able bodied employee to have convenient parking, than a handicapped, paying guest to have a close parking spot. Very poor customer service, bad staff attitude. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND staying here... plenty of other choices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiekay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. We will use this feedback to improve. We encourage everyone to book directly through the hotel or at Choicehotels.com rather than 3rd party websites. 3rd Party websites do not book your room type, they only book your room, therefore, if you book with the hotel directly you can ensure that you are getting everything that you need. We hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you in the future. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep Gap, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice hotel, very reasonable and comfortable! Loved having the kitchen to cook breakfast. Found it was a good location, central to all beaches. Our only complaints were the pillows (too small and way too soft) and that no one came to tidy the room unless you requested it. Otherwise, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is essential to helping our property grow. Thank you again, and we hope we will see you again in the future! Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for one night during a boat shopping trip to Wilmington. The hotel room was clean and very large with a nice couch and recliner. We didn't need the kitchen amenities but the appliances looked updated and clean. The bed was firm and linen of average quality. Breakfast was average. The only confusing aspect is the lobby...when you enter it is not obvious that the registration desk is the registration desk...it looks more like someone's office desk. Although we were only there for one night, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here for several nights if I had business in Wilmington.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunkieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to hear you had a great experience. Please give us a call the next time you have business (or pleasure) in Wilmington, and we would love to accommodate you. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We came out with another family to visit the beaches and landmarks. We had two rooms and stayed 5 nights. We enjoyed every minute of it. Our rooms were spotlessly clean. The breakfast lady is friendly and kept her counters clean and food stocked. My kids especially enjoyed the sausage biscuits. The staff was helpful and made everything easy for us.

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Wilmington.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank You, Amanda, for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful experience. Hopefully we will see you guys again on your next visit to Wilmington! Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PUNTA GORDA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is showing its age but makes up for that by the accommodating personnel and the layout of the rooms. It was great having a separate room for the bedroom and having two tvs. The whole suite is very well designed and functional...lots of good lighting and outlets, good work area, quick wifi. The kitchen is a plus. The furniture is worn and needs updated. The breakfast bar was good and very well maintained. We were there for an extended period of time due to a family emergency. We changed our checkout date several times and the staff was very professional and friendly. They made sure we had a room, even when they were sold out. Their attitude made us feel they were part of our family. The hotel became our refuge and we greatly appreciate all the efforts to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acry-artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank You for your kind words. We were glad to help you in anyway that we could, and are so happy that you were comfortable during your tough time. We love to hear when we've made our guest feel welcome and at "home". We hope you and your husband are doing well! Please let us know if we can accommodate you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my wedding week and so di my wedding party and family. We got a good price for the wedding party and the gm communicated quickly and was great during the planning process. Everyone was nice but some did not know what they were doing. Our rooms air was acting for a couple days but by the end of our 5 day stay it got better. I wish our guests were all on the same floor for accessibility during the craziness of getting everyone together but we made it work.
The breakfast in the morning was nice and everyone was really polite. The pool was fun and kept the kids busy. It is a great location. Its between the beach and downtown.
Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dperham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmingtonhotels, Front Office Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank You for choosing us for your big day! We hope it was wonderful! We apologize for everyone being scattered about. Sometimes it is tough with high occupancy, however , we will take this feedback and learn from it. Congratulations, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#22 of 44 in Wilmington
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#26 of 44 in Wilmington
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 5229 Market St, Hwy 132 & US 17, Wilmington, NC 28405-3433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Wilmington
Mainstay Wilmington
Wilmington Mainstay Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing