We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great deal for the money, a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beau Rivage Golf & Resort
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place, great deal for the money, a few drawbacks”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for three nights, played golf a few times, intended to play tennis but didn't (more about that later). First, the room: As at least one previous poster noted, though the Web site tries very hard to sell Beau Rivage as an upscale resort, it is basically a motel with a golf course. That doesn't mean it's bad, just that you should know what to expect. The rooms are nice and large -- they are actually suites, with a bedroom, living room and wet bar/kitchenette area. All have a view of the golf course, which is nice. Liked the little balcony. Our closets contained exactly three wire coat hangers. There's a coffeemaker, a microwave (ours was difficult to use, possibly a little broken) and a mini-fridge. However the kitchen area is limited in use because there are no dishes or utensils, so if you want to use the microwave to heat up food, you'll also need to find plates and silverware, plus dishwashing liquid. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The golf course is very good. I thought the tee times were scheduled a little too close together, but other than that, a fine experience for the price. As to tennis: Though the sign at the entrance refers to a "golf and tennis community," the two tennis courts are in disgraceful shape. Cracked all over, with weeds growing everywhere. In short, unplayable. That was a huge disappointment because we had brought racquets and tennis clothes and had hoped to play at least every day. They need to remove any mention of tennis from their Web site -- it is simply false advertising. On the whole, the price and the good parts of Beau Rivage outweigh the drawbacks, and we would go again with a better idea of what to expect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Owner at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We just took over as the new management company and your review brings out so many good things about the property and the things we need to change. We are working hard to improve all parts of the hotel. We just ordered new tvs for the bed rooms and upgraded all the beddings. We are working on some new amenities to enhance the service and overall amenities. The hotel is exterior corridor but in a great location on the golf course and within the community of Beau Rivage which quiet, safe and serene. The property has 2800 square feet of meeting space which is great for Weddings and other social events. You are 100% correct about the tennis court. We are working on a plan to get repairs to the courts and hope to have that completed by the end of the year. We have made some small improvements for immediate use. We hope you will stay with us again to experience the new improvements and please personally ask for me. If you have any other suggestions please don't hesitate to call me at 910-509-1707. Barry Eagle, Owner-Crown Hotel & Travel Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    64
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
90
49
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wye Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had the pleasure of staying two nights at Beau Rivage this week. The staff could not have been friendlier. The room was spacious and clean. This is a very nice golf resort that is opening their Hotel earlier in the year (from what I was told). The restaurant had a somewhat limited evening menu, but there are many places to dine near the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaPro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for recognizing our staff members! We hope to see you again in the future! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kure Beach NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

During the recent ice storm we lost power for 4 days. By day three we no longer wanted to sleep in a house that was 49 degrees...no shower etc. We called around to some hotels and were quoted rates that for off season seemed pretty high. We were going to stay another night at the hotel when we happened upon Beau Rivage. Being locals we were familiar with the golf course but completely unaware of the hotel. We call and Mary answered the phone and was incredibly nice and helpful and we were blown away at the price (check them out on google), The hotel is not fancy but is is comfortable and well kept and the rooms very large. Parking was great and there is a fun bar right in the hotel. We found everyone we came in contact with friendly and very helpful. Even though we don't golf we will be staying here again for weekend getaways and romantic evenings. If you are a golfer this is a great place to stay. If you are coming to Wilmington and don't want to be right on the beach this is your best bet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vernandcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to give Beau Rivage a review! I am glad that we were able to help you during the ice storm. We look forward to your next visit with us! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here for Thanksgiving and the location was just down the street from the family, room was clean, and comfortable. Staff was great. I was almost overcharged, but they fixed it immediately. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay @ Beau Rivage. Our newly renovated room opened up to the golf course with views of the putting, chipping and driving range. We could park our cart right outside our patio. Ultimate convenience when making the turn! The golf course was not only beautiful, but very well managed. Our golf carts were the Mercedes of golf charts equipped with a new GPS software program that not only improved our golf but added to the fun! The staff were friendly, helpful and very flexible. Can't wait to go back next fall!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor. Your patio opens up to the golf course and you can park your car...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 665MVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for giving Beau Rivage a review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you next visit! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 3 day stay at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort and I can’t say enough great things about our trip and the facility. The Hotel – not fancy but very comfortable and well-kept and it overlooks the golf course. The Staff (hotel and golf course staff) – Outstanding, very courteous, friendly and helpful. The Food - again not fancy but very good and at very reasonable prices and the food service and bar service was excellent. The Golf Course - one of the best courses I have ever played and I have been playing for many years. I have played several private courses over the last several years & most private course I have played would be rated a 10. Comparing Beau Rivage to those private courses, Beau would be rated an 8. It is well run and the condition of the course was excellent. I can’t wait to return to this wonderful resort. - - - Lou & Ann

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Lou for taking time to give Beau Rivage a review! We truly appreciate your kind comments about the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the food, and the golf course! We are under new management and are in the process of upgrading the property! We hope that you will visit us again in the future! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stay at Beau Rivage yearly to visit a daughter and play some golf. Although the rooms are plainly furnished, the beds are comfortable and the lodging price very affordable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast at BR offers a variety of choices, not fancy, but delicious. We eat on the deck overlooking the first tee and enjoy the parade of golfers as they start their rounds. Since we are seniors, we plan our tee time at low volume times so we don't interfere with scratch golfers on the course. We got two mid afternoon and one late morning time. Our rounds of golf were lovely. The carts are equipped with easy to use GPS units which display yard ages and score the rounds. The course was in wonderful shape. The greens, well manicured and very challenging. Beau Rivage will remain our destination of choice whenever we are in Wilmington NC.

Room Tip: We choose first floor rooms because we can park our car in front of the room for unloading and loadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeauRivageGolf, Manager at Beau Rivage Golf & Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Bob for the great review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are under new management and are currently upgrading the property over the next year. We hope to see you soon! Barry Eagle (Owner-Management Co.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
9.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
6.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Rivage Golf & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Rivage Golf & Resort

Property: Beau Rivage Golf & Resort
Address: 649 Rivage Promenade, Wilmington, NC 28412-2757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beau Rivage Golf & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beau Rivage is situated on a narrow peninsula tucked snugly between the Cape Fear River and Intracoastal Waterway on the outskirts of Hollywood East (historic Wilmington, North Carolina). Aside from an award-winning layout (4 Stars by Golf Digest's Best Places to Play), superb conditioning and renowned greens, the resort also features spacious lodging accommodations and is the only place in the Coastal Carolinas where you can play a championship golf course and stay directly on-site. Guests can literally take a few step out their back door and find themselves at the first tee, practice facilities and amenities. A colonial style clubhouse showcases classically unique event venues, a fully-stocked Pro Shop, conference room and signature "19th Hole" in the Veranda Bar & Grill. Great golf and family hospitality at an unmatched value --- Beau Rivage is the home of true Coastal Carolina "stay and play" golf packages. All just minutes from I-40, Wilmington International Airport, the historic river district and the breathtaking beaches of Pleasure Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Beau Rivage Golf & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Resort And Golf Club
Beau Rivage Resort & Golf Club Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing