We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic plantation”

Poplar Grove Plantation
Ranked #15 of 109 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: On the National Register of Historic Places, Poplar Grove is a museum complex with 1850 manor house, smoke house, tenant house and blacksmith shop. Enjoy craft demonstrations, exhibits, farm animals, horse rescue program, Wednesday & Thursday Farmers' Markets, and various festivals throughout the year. Open Monday-Saturday for tours March through November. Closed Sundays. Check daily tour time for low, mid and high season hours. Annual events include the Herb & Garden Fair, Kentucky Derby Party, Pistons, Plugs & Shocks Car Show, Grooves in the Grove, and a Halloween Masquerade. December has candlelight tour hours and a Christmas Festival, including Trail of Lights. Next door is beautiful 63 acre Abbey Nature Preserve with over two miles of trails and pond with footbridge.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,363 reviews
855 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,106 helpful votes
“historic plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

When we arrived the tour had just left and we didn't have time to wait for the next one. We were, however, able to walk the grounds and see the other historic buildings and farm animals. I enjoyed that part very much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    22
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding here. The grounds are beautiful and we even have peacocks to join the reception. Beautiful!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdmb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The poplar grave plantation is Beautiful. I really enjoyed my visit here and could see myself going back time and time agin!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great re-enactment of family member!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a pleasant surprise this was! Lovely people who work in all areas. The tour was so good - an "family member" from the 1830s took us around and told some good stories making it especially fun for a child. Nice farmer's market on Wednesdays!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsalotNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A re-visit of a beautiful plantation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Poplar Grove has a beautiful area of beauty from plants and places of the plantation. A great place to hold your love one hand and just walk through. Love true love. Go, Please Go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poplar Grove Plantation also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Poplar Grove Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing