We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Wilmington Oakdale Cemetery
Ranked #28 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Attraction details
Clayton, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you are a historic graveyard lover - this place is for you. Beautiful rolling hills and moss covered trees. I could ride around the grounds all day if I had time. Very worthy of your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pkc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,498 reviews
945 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
“beautiful old historic cemetery”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First I need to say to be sure to stop at the gate to get a map of the historic graves. Otherwise, this place is so large you may not find them. You can walk alone, take a tour, or drive (we chose to drive). One of the graves you'll find is Rose O'Neal Greenhow (a confederate spy during the Civil War). She was on a British blockade runner when it ran aground near Wilmington. She refused to leave behind the gold she had sewn into her underclothes and drowned from the weight. Henry Bacon was the architect of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D. C. Nance Martin died at sea and was tied to a chair in a seated position and put into a barrel of rum. The barrel containing her body is buried in Oakdale Cemetery. Captain William Ellerbrook's dog Boss ran into a burning building to save his master. Ellerbrook and Boss were found dead inside the building the next day with a torn piece of Ellerbrook's coat in Boss' mouth from trying to drag his master to safety. Boss is buried in the casket with Ellerbrook. There are many other interesting grave sites. There is also an 1862 burial site on a hill for yellow fever victims. Only a few of the graves have markers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful tour, especially if you like history”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Oakdale Cemetery is a great place to tour, especially when the weather is mild. There is a lot to see. And there is plenty of history at Oakdale. The some graves date back to the late 1700's since Wilmington was a Port City.
I've been through the tour two times, over the course of time, and it has always been interesting. The people who lead the tour are very knowledgeable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great old southern cemetery!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Can't say there was anything we didn't like, but do keep in mind that the gates close and lock at 5pm!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as neat as I expected.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Cemetery is huge and intertwined with several different sections. Please go to the main gate (off 15th) and get a map. This also gives you several key graves to look for. I would say if you are not an enthusiast of graveyard exploration, you may want to skip this. Possible to get some scenic photographs but the graves and grounds are in need of upkeep. There is a newsletter also at the main gate that gives more info on supporting the upkeep.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilmington Oakdale Cemetery also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Wilmington Oakdale Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing