We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of The Pub

The Pub
Ranked #395 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: The Pub is the only Wilmington, NC burger restaurant to grind its own meet fresh daily on-site. Fresh just tastes better, come in to experience it for yourself! Still not convinced, took a look at the gallery for a small selection of the different burgers we create daily! FRESH JUST TASTES BETTER!
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was trying to describe the restaurant when I noticed someone else said "Looks are deceiving" that's an understatement. The outside and the inside don't quite match. When you first walk in it reminds me of a Denny's (yikes, is what I thought) then as you walk through there is a band playing...hmmm and a bar area. The menu was pretty extensive. I got the crab cakes, they weren't bad, however I wouldn't get them again. I definitely would go back and try something else. I didn't have any of their desserts, but I heard they were known for them. Try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wallbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Creative and Good Burgers”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Looking for the SweetNSavory Cafe (on foot) and found the pub. Loved my burger, but don't think I got the avocado slice I paid for ( but didn't notice until my hubby asked). Hubby had to order the ghost chili chili and felt it lived up to the name! would try again if I want a burger, but would like to try original Sweet and Savory Cafe

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynrjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Drove by several times on previous trips to the coast, so had little more time this past trip to try things, so thought about this joint while passing it!

First off lay out is WEIRD to say the least inside... Funky bar lay out, restaurant walls did not make sense for locations amongst others.... They had a ton of different draft beers, ales, lagers and what not. Food? b+ but I got finger style food due to lunch time....

But if you ever go here? Take my advice and opt for the outside patio sitting..... Might just make for better times, because the outside looks way cooler

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Glad We Missed Breakfast.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Didn't realize the raved-about Sweet and Savory Cafe was only for breakfast, so we ended up eating at The Pub for dinner. Outside was a smokefest so we were forced to sit inside, which frankly was pretty unattractive. That said, the Pub Burger on rye and the onion rings were two of the best things I've ever eaten!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sting-a-Ling-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem,NC
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“I really liked it!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place is nice if you want a casual atmosphere.decent prices and decent food/drink. Located on the main road to the beach..outside seating(which looked dog friendly).

Great beer selection...decent food selection(loved the ghost pepper chili)and a good attitude.

No stress,,,drink your beer..eat your food..do your thing.

fair amount of Tvs for your viewing pleasure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheScanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pub also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing