We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and awesome service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RuckerJohns Restaurant

RuckerJohns Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I had dinner here while on vacation. We were kindly greeted at the hostess stand and taken to a table right away. Our waitress was good at here job and very helpful when we asked about local attractions. It was our first time in the area and she took time to tell us about things to do. Not to mention our food was very good. My steak was cooked perfect and the flavor was wonderuful. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeceeClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    62
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Chicken is my favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I always order the Santa Fe chicken and love it! The spicy black beans and melted cheese with tangy ranch is so good! I get side salad (good, but pretty simple) and sweet potato fries (yum), but you can order any 2 sides. Only side I do not like is the Mac and cheese. It is bland and reminds me of a terrible box kind, I hated it because. I expected it to be homemade for some reason. Their ranch dressing is by far the best I have ever had. I dip my chicken and sweet potato fries in it, just can't get enough! Eve, our waitress tonight, was great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I frequent this restaurant. When we have out of town guests we also usually bring them here as well. The food and service is consistently good . My husband loves their ribs and I usually choose different items, seafood, salads, and pasta.
The only thing I would recommend is that they offer a wet napkin or additional wetnaps when people order the ribs. They never offer more napkins other than the cloth one you get with your place setting, and when we ask they give us square bar napkins.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“not super, but definitely decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It's kind of hard to tell what the target audience of this place is. That being said, the food is nothing super spectacular, and it's not priced like it either. The food is also not bad either. It's a quick meal with good service and pleasant staff. The menu is diverse enough that anyone can find something they like. Definitely did like the croissant with the salad though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our group, 16, enjoyed a very nice evening together at Rucker John's and were served by a fantastic staff. Being a large group is a challenge in getting orders in and out, and accurate. This staff did it! The food was stated by most of our group as being superior! Personally, I felt the breaded shrimp was below the standard expected of this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RuckerJohns Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to RuckerJohns Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing