We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful meal!”
Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Ranked #15 of 678 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another wonderful meal!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pilot House is our "go to" place for lunch or dinner whenever we're in Wilmington. Never been disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    190
    75
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had lunch here after the Henrietta boat tour. My husband had the Philly cheese and I had the grownup grilled cheese (tomato & bacon). Both were good lunch fare. Had 2 cokes as well. Bill was close to $30 with tax and gratuity (this was with a coupon.....1/2 off 2nd entrée). Thought this was a bit high for sandwiches. I guess it's all about the view. Would probably go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLabs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

awesome food, great staff, right on the water and boardwalk. enjoyed everything. Had a wonderful meal with business clients, everyone enjoyed their meals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved grabbing lunch here. Great food and excellent service. We were able to take a walk down the boardwalk afterward. Delightful afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pilot House has every aspect covered!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

No doubt, if you read any of my reviews, you'll quickly notice that I'm a foodie... I love food. Period.

The Pilot House is rustic on the inside and weathered on the outside and nestled at the far end of the city's beautiful historic Riverfront overlooking the Cape Fear River. It's simply breathtaking.

Any and everything on the menu is a Southerner's dream. The Shrimp & Grits are some of the best I've had out of 5 of the Deep South states I've had them in. The Crispy Catfish over a bed of creamy grits with a side of collards is by far my favorite. I eat with a family who is picky..... I can't win with them, but The Pilot House can. Maybe it's the yummy cornbread they serve before the meal. Maybe it's the mesmerizing view of the river. Maybe it's just plain ole good food!!! Great food.

Ladies, don't be foolish and wear your stilettos. It's at the end of a cobblestone road, the very tiny parking lot is gravel, & the planked walkway is uneven and just waiting for a nice heel to get near the grasps of one of the spaces between them, like the indigenous Venus Fly Trap. What I'm saying is spare your heels.... Wear flats.

I could literally sit outside for hours watching the fierce current of the Cape Fear, watching cars cross the Cape Fear Memorial bridge, or facing the USS North Carolina and watching the sun set. Afterwards, do yourself a favor, walk down the Riverwalk.... You'll thank me later.

Aside from it's magnificent menu & great staff..... It's just got the whole package.

If I write reviews, it's typically about somewhere fantastic or really bad. This is definitely fantastic! Bon Appetite!

Helpful?
2 Thank jaye528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing