We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an awesome dinner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Ranked #15 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had an awesome dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I got the baked grouper topped with oysters, my wife had the petit filet. Kids had fettuccine and hot dog. Waitress was real friendly and personable. Had dinner right at sunset from a table overlooking the river.

Dinner experience was much better than what I was expecting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexinalexandria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    177
    69
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Husband and I decided to head to Wilmington for the evening for dinner. We wanted something along the river with a great view! Food was excellent but the service was poor. Our waiter never told us about the special and seemed to be preoccupied with something else the whole time. It just appeared that he would of obviously rather been anywhere else but there.

I had the shrimp and grits and cleaned my plate! My husband had the steam pot. Overall the value and quality of the food was excellent. I am only giving this place 4 stars due to the service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice outside dinner and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful outside patio seating. Can watch the sunset from the dock. Bring bug spray for sunset.

Good wine selection. Swanson (from CA) was a suprise. All meals were great. Had flounder, salmon, catch of the day and the meat (steak) special. Everyone was very pleased. Had the sorbet and bread pudding for dessert. Bread pudding made the top 3 ever list. Nice, casual place with great food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank berniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our experience at The Pilot House was phenomenal from start to finish. We went around 5:00 before the dinner crowd began. The minute we walked in the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We were able to pick our seat in the dining room. We picked a seat right by the window with a view of the river and bridge. The atmosphere inside was quaint and enjoyable. The food was nothing short of amazing as well. For an appetizer we had the crab cocktail and for dinner we had the shrimp and lobster pasta and the mixed grill special. Service was excellent. We would definitely recommend The Pilot House to anyone who may be traveling near the Riverwalk.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As great as last year!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great view, great service, delicious food! We are very happy with all our meals!! Shrimp and grits, Chicken and Prosciutto Linguini, and Fr Fish platter.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuicyLucy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing