We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tours we took!”

Burgwin-Wright House and Gardens
Ranked #19 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1771, the Burgwin-Wright House and Gardens is the only structure in Wilmington from the colonial era open to the public. Operated as a museum house, it offers visitors a unique opportunity to view a fine example of Georgian architecture and experience what life was like during pre-revolutionary Wilmington. All rooms are furnished with 18th and 19th century antiques and showcase hundreds of objects. Occupying two-thirds of an acre, the colonial style gardens consist of seven distinct areas, including an orchard with pomegranate and fig trees, a kitchen garden and a rose garden. Built on the foundation of a former city jail, circa 1744, the house retains many vestiges of its previous incarnation such as outdoor and sub-basement jail cells and a freestanding kitchen house with a massive hearth complete with period cooking utensils. Guided tours include the stories about the people who lived and worked here and the women's organization that saved this landmark from the wrecking ball. Tours are Monday-Saturday 10am-4pm. Tours are on the hour with the last departing at 3pm. Burgwin-Wright House and Gardens is a Blue Star
Arden, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best tours we took!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

So much history in this house! Our wonderful tour guide Bobby was a true southern gentleman and gave us a lot of facts and information about this lovely old home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dstarr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Burgwin-Wright Museum House”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the house and gardens and our guide was excellent. The only problem I can see with visiting the house is it is not easily accessible to anyone with limited walking or climbing abilities. There is no elevator to the upper levels and there are several sets of stairs to climb.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GenealogyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very interesting house. Furnished, and you can enter the rooms and get up close to the furnishings and artifacts from the family that lived there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxeWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressive house”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The tour guide was excellent , allowing me to see everything up close as I was the only tourist. Not rushing and giving great information in lively presentation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Crikey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great piece of Colonial history...”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Great piece of Colonial history. This pre-revolutionary home started as a jail, was occupied by Cornwallis, and was left to ruin. Restored by the Colonial Dames starting in 1937, this Georgian Styled Mansion is well worth the visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgwin-Wright House and Gardens also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Burgwin-Wright House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing