We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I love staying in Marriotts and this one was no exception! The staff were attentive, the room was stylish/comfortable/upscale, and the location was perfect. You aren't in the middle downtown, but you're just a quick few minute drive to front street or an easy bicycle ride to the water front. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medafrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and to our hotel. Marriott prides itself our making our guests experience memorable. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at The Courtyard Marriott - Downtown Historic District in Wilmington NC for the weekend of relatives wedding. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We were lucky enough to snag a suite-like room ( not sure what they call this room) but it had a king size bed in the bedroom area, and a pull-out couch in the living area. The entryway was big enough for a roll-away. The room was lovely and the best mattress I have ever slept on. There were 2 TV's, a nice desk area, and a wardrobe type closet with plenty of hangers and HOOKS!!! ( one of my pet peeves with most hotels...not enough places to hang wet towels or robes.) The bathroom was spotless and a great walk in shower. It was nice to have the little refrigerator to store our wine and drinks and yogurt. We didnt use the pool, but it looked fine and the fire pit seemed like a nice hangout in the evening. One of my daughters reported that the fitness room was just fine. The desk staff were friendly and helpful- a special shout-out to Alli!!! Also the guys working out front helping with luggage and parking were so happy and friendly We self-parked in the lot/garage around the corner at $8/day. There is a bistro type place to eat in the lobby, but we did not use it. The rest of the lobby was large with lots of comfy chairs and couches and tables.
This hotel is so convenient to the popular Riverwalk and to lots of shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere and enjoyed a powerwalk along the river in the morning.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Ideal location. We did not experience any noise from our 4th floor room. The rooms do not have a safe in them. I think this should be pretty standard and it would have been nice to have one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susea39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Oh… Thank you…We love you too! Thank you for the kind words… Alli is truly wonderful and makes a great addition to our team! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Whatever you do please do not stay at this hotel unless you want to listen to loud booty shaking club music all night. Great hotel but it is not worth paying money to lose sleep. There is a night club next door and the music is unbearable. I hate night clubs and I really wish that someone would have informed us. Cant wait to checkout!!!!!! Never again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your helpful feedback. I'd love to follow up with you personally about your experience. The bar across the street has moved. Please give me a call as soon as you have the time and inclination, 910-632-2900.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ideal location to everything that is fun downtown, clean hotel, brand new, 2nd floor pool, convenient and courteous valet parking (Will is #1!!!). Stayed the night before my niece's graduation and I have already booked my return long weekend vacation trip at this same location. I can't wait to come back! Also, worth noting that hard-working and honest housekeeping staff who not only kept my room immaculate but also turned in my iPod that I accidentally left behind. 3 days later and my iPod is back home safe. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxationMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you, Will is truly wonderful and our housekeeping team does a great job! It's our team that makes us such a great hotel. Our staff ready to take care of our guest's needs. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

First time visited Wilmington and loved the location of the hotel. Rooms were all new and pretty spacious. pool area was nice with a fire pit. the inner rooms closer to the pool are less noisy due to the surrounding area. This hotel is good for anyone looking to be close to the downtown area. No can needed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our historic city. It truly is a great place to visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our new downtown hotel! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel will satisfy the picky business traveler with ease. From the nicely done rooms with workstations, to the modern bathrooms, I really had a good stay.
The staff from the valet guys to front desk were all very nice.
Walkable to everything downtown is a plus and some rooms even have a view of the river.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others so you just have to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G0Pirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for the great review and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that the next ti,e you are on the Wilmington area that you will return to our Courtyard by Marriott.

Warm Regards,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the new downtown Wilmington NC Courtyard. The room was clean, bed firm and staff accommodating. It took us awhile to be organized at getting things out of our car as parking is quite a distance from the hotel and we're used to having it at hand. The valets were very patient with us. There was a little street noise on the 6th floor, but we were so tired we just turned over. There wasn't anymore noise than in other hotels. In fact, less than being next to the ice machine or elevator. It is a great location for enjoying the restaurants and shopping downtown. We will definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If having a bathtub is important to you, request a room with one. Most only have showers. The fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We were absolutely honored to have your family here for your Mother’s Day! Our team truly delights in making such an important moment in your family's life a special one. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District

Address: 229 N 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4252
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £71 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attractive and comfortable guest room accommodations, the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District is sure to meet your lodging needs. Located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, in the Historic District, our hotel is the perfect choice for both the business and leisure traveler. We are conveniently located near UNC - Wilmington, Cape Fear Community College, PPD, Corning Glass Works, DuPont, International Paper, General Electric, and the Wilmington City Convention Center. Come enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, or explore the USS North Carolina Battleship located on the historic riverfront, or spend a day at one of the many beaches Wilmington has to offer. With over 1,800 square feet of versatile event space and complimentary wireless internet access, this Wilmington, NC hotel creates the perfect setting for successful business engagements and memorable social gatherings. We look forward to Welcoming you to the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing