We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new hotel in Historic Downtown Wilmington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I were on a leisurely trip to NC and wanted to spend a couple of days in the downton historic district of Wilmington. We stayed at the brand new Courtyard Marriott and cannot say enough good things about it. The location is close to everything so that we could walk everywhere. From check-in, every single staff member made us feel welcome. Valet parking is available, but the parking garage is right next door and the desk will just give you a card to swipe in and out for only $8/day. The lobby is modern, comfortable, and very tastefully done. The Starbucks/lunch counter was great for breakfast. We didn't eat dinner there, so cannot comment. Too many good restaurants in the area. The small store had everything one might need, but it would have been convenient to have drink vending machines on the floors with the ice machines .

The pool area was spotless, with inviting towels laid out on the lounges and very refreshing.

The rooms were large, inviting and also tastefully appointed. Everything was new, spotlessly clean, AC and Wifi worked perfectly. Minifridge was handy for wine and beer. The very best thing was the bathroom that had a huge glass door shower stall, lots of counter space on vanity, great lighting, plenty of towels! If there was a negative at all, it would have been the lack of a safe for personal items in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VirginiaJsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed our hotel and the Wilmington area. The hotel is a wonderful getaway! Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a new hotel in a great location by the riverside, restaurants etc. Rooms are great, and the shower was awesome. Additionally, everybody there was exceptionally friendly, especially Donna at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theamericannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Donna and the team are truly wonderful. Thank you for the great review on our new hotel. Downtown Wilmington truly has a lot to offer. We hope to see you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you are on an expense account, skip this review and book your room here. If you are paying out of your own pocket, you might want to shop around a little. The prices are a little hight for a room here, albeit at a very good location in the Wilmington historic district.

Also, be prepared to pay extra for parking. Opt for the self-parking across the street Vs. the valet parking where you will have your tachometer tested to the limit. They need to hire more caring valets!

Everything else is clean and new in this Courtyard and the staff was very nice (other than the valets). The location was right in the downtown district just a short walk from all the abundant restaurants, cafes and the river walk. Do not expect a complimentary breakfast or coffee.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MojoDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the great review of our new hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the little extras we have to offer. I hope that we will see you soon on a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a new Courtyard with a great location in the heart if downtown. Close to everything you would want to see. Staff was awesome and very delightful not to mention they surprised us with a gift for our anniversary!
Rooms were comfortable and spacious. The only complaint I would have is no hot tub at this property which we like to relax to before calling it a night.
Valet parking if you choose or if you want to save and do the work you can park on the street after 6pm through the week. Saturdays they get busy and parking is an industry there, common in cities with robust downtown venues. We had one incident at 130am with drunken, loud patrons in rooms next which eventually they went to bed. Not the hotels fault by any means.
We would stay here again next time in Wilmington.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Wilmington is a great area and we are happy to be here. Our hotel is a custom built Courtyard, you will not find another one like it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the initial phone call to make the reservation, to the moment we left, everything was wonderful. Special thanks to Sean R. He was welcoming and smiling and made sure we had everything we needed. The beds are fabulous. The rooms are modern and the bathrooms are even great looking and have a fan!! (Why don't all hotels have this??)
Quiet, great air conditioning and comfy pillows added to me wanting to stay longer. There's an amazing pool on second floor, it's really nice and there's a fire pit alongside to warm up after you get out, or just to sit and relax with a glass of wine. I also appreciated the guest laundry. Valet is available although we chose to self park. You can walk to everything within minutes. Great restaurants everywhere. So overall it's a great hotel. The best as far as modern in the downtown area. Probably in all of Wilmington. (Still in bed as I'm writing this. Too comfy to leave !!)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Our beds are wonderful! I am glad that you enjoyed a restful night sleep. Our pool and fire pit are great. I am so happy that our guest's are enjoying them. We love being downtown and there is so much to do! I will be sure to tell Sean how much you enjoyed working with him. He truly is wonderful. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a king room. The room was large with a huge and very comfortable bed. The whole hotel is very modern and clean and there is a lovely pool and courtyard area. The staff were very helpful, especially the lady on the front desk who decided to move us to a nicer room than the one we had originally been allocated (not at our request which was very thoughtful of her) and also the very friendly man at the valet desk who gave me directions to the car garage.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the riverfront and even nearer to some of the bars and restaurants around Market Street. The hotel is also about 20 minutes drive from Wrightsville Beach which is lovely (bring change to pay the meter if you are driving!).
Parking is $8 per day (self-parking) at the garage opposite the hotel. There is also valet parking

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I am glad to see that you enjoued your stay and our wonderful city and beaches! Thank you for the kind words regarding our team. I will be sure to pass that on. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Upscale hotel, charming town, great restaurant options, by the river. We were on our way south and stopped for one night here. Immaculate hotel with helpful front desk associates, suites were spacious,

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach4me088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom U, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and Downtown. We hope to Welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District

Address: 229 N 2nd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4252
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attractive and comfortable guest room accommodations, the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District is sure to meet your lodging needs. Located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, in the Historic District, our hotel is the perfect choice for both the business and leisure traveler. We are conveniently located near UNC - Wilmington, Cape Fear Community College, PPD, Corning Glass Works, DuPont, International Paper, General Electric, and the Wilmington City Convention Center. Come enjoy a horse drawn carriage ride, or explore the USS North Carolina Battleship located on the historic riverfront, or spend a day at one of the many beaches Wilmington has to offer. With over 1,800 square feet of versatile event space and complimentary wireless internet access, this Wilmington, NC hotel creates the perfect setting for successful business engagements and memorable social gatherings. We look forward to Welcoming you to the Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington Downtown/Historic District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing