We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; wonderfull inn keeper; got a very welcome feeling”
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riverwalk
Ranked #3 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service; wonderfull inn keeper; got a very welcome feeling”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have stayed here a couple of times the last months and it has always been a pleasure to stay here. The Inn-keeper, Michael, is very attentive, he is willing to help you with almost anything (e.g. he helped me shopping when my suitcase did not arrive at 12:30 am).
The rooms are lovely and the breakfast is made to your choise of food / items.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobknol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
146
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Lake, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We gathered from all over the US to celebrate a family event! The Inn Keeper, Michael and staff we so attentive to our needs. Always with a smile and made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clnjuly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Last weekend my daughter got married at St Thomas Preservation Hall in the historic district of Wilmington, NC. When we started to plan we looked for places to stay for all those coming from out of town. The Clarendon is right behind St Thomas Preservation Hall, so we took a look. It is beautiful, comfortable, and so convenient. Michael was so helpful we felt like he was part of the family. The celebration began at 3 on Friday and continued until 11 on Sunday because both families filled all the rooms. Breakfast with everyone was so enjoyable. Booking the Clarendon made the wedding weekend the best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The Clarendon Inn was absolutely wonderful. I truly felt like I was on vacation! The room was extremely clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was able to satisfy even the most picky of eaters. Micheal, the Innkeeper, was more than kind, and the environment was pleasing and quiet. There were a number of places to sit outside to relax and enjoy the Wilmington atmosphere. I will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylynn1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Stayed at this Boutique Inn/B&B last weekend while in town for a wedding. Rooms and facilities were extremely clean, innkeepers were very friendly and knowledgeable about area, and location was prime with only a two block walk to boardwalk. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We were in Wilmington for a wedding and like to stay in B&Bs when we can. This does not feel like a standard B&B as breakfast is more of a continental style, but was nice on the patio none-the-less. The room was clean and, unlike many traditional B&Bs, the plumbing was fairly modern. :-)

Definitely a great place to stay if you are in Wilmington.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cr1ms0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We just returned from a 3-day, 2-night trip to Wilmington and couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Clarendon Inn. The hosts were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and the room was spotless. The Inn is located about 2 blocks from the Riverwalk, and we were able to leave our car in their offstreet parking lot and walk to everything! The location was perfect! Michael, the innkeeper, was spot-on in his recommendations of restaurants for our dinners (menus to a multitude of area restaurants were also available for us to look at) - once again, all within walking distance of the inn.
For breakfast, we had a variety of times from which to choose when we wanted it to be served- and then had the choice of eating in our room, in the lobby, or on either the front or back porch. Hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, meatless breakfast patties, warm biscuits, mini muffins, and banana bread were served along with our choice of juice, coffee, and tea. Fresh fruit was always available in the lobby along with cold bottled water, hot tea, coffee, and cocoa. You certainly were well fed.
We highly recommend the Clarendon Inn and look forward to our return trip there. We can't imagine staying anyplace else!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBgalNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Riverwalk
Address: 117 S 2nd St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401-4458 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age of 12. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing