We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dock Street Oyster Bar

Dock Street Oyster Bar
Ranked #16 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a Family owned Business that takes great pride in using Locally sourced Seafood and Vegetables at affordable prices . We have been voted Best Oyster bar by Encore readers in Wilmington 15 years in a row.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stopped by with family visiting from Philly. Lunch was great. Oysters Rockerfeller, garlic horseradish shrimp, grilled chicken sandwich and thai broccoli. Everything was delicious. The service was great...Carly was awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank golfrkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    110
    29
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Crab Legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful! The servers are not only attentive but friendly as well. The crab legs are out of this world delicious. The prices are something to be excited about. All seafood is fresh and local. The atmosphere is enjoyable and bright. This is a restaurant not to miss! Whenever I host out of town visitors, this is a must-do on our list of the Best of Wilmington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun2bme2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Last night we had a great dinner. Steamed crab legs and shrimp were excellent. My husband had a night special with shrimp over dirty rice with an orange sesame sauce. We both loved our meals-- considering going back again tonight. One tip if you are going for lunch during the week just know this place opens at 3.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lodgermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great seafood & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

DSOB had the “dive bar” atmosphere, however, the food and service are anything but that. They have very fresh & local seafood. The wait staff will pry open the oysters with skill. Prices are reasonable for the food quality. Fun place for the whole family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BunnyGirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'd go again if I could!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

It is a bit small inside but the staff was very friendly. I love seafood and was satisfied with my selection. My boyfriend on the other hand does not like seafood. Surprisingly enough he ordered some and he loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOYSTERBAR, Owner at Dock Street Oyster Bar, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you sooo much for taking the time to write such a nice review !!
We really appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Thanks ..Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dock Street Oyster Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Dock Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing