We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&Bs We've Stayed In” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosehill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosehill Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs We've Stayed In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We travel the world, and we love to stay in a B&B when we have the opportunity. In other words, we know what makes a B&B stay a great experience -- a comfortable bed, a gourmet breakfast, welcoming hosts, and a great location. The Rosehill bed and breakfast in Wilmington gets 5 stars in each category. We stayed at the inn during Azalea festival weekend in April. Bob and Tricia, the owners, are super friendly and very helpful with suggestions on restaurants, what to see, directions, etc. Breakfasts are outstanding (the recipe for sausage is Bob's own, a combination of sausage and bacon blended into a patty). The location is perfect, downtown and just 3 short blocks to the water and great restaurants. Why this B&B is not ranked first or second among Wilmington B&Bs by Trip Advisor readers is puzzling. We're glad we discovered this gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
43
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in 45 Inns around the country, I would put this in the top 10. The innkeepers are incredibly friendly and the Inn is beautiful. The location is steps away from Wilmington's Historic Chandler's Wharf, the waterfront, Elijah's restaurant( a must-try), unique shops and hundreds of gorgeous historic homes. Our room ( the Oriental one)was even nicer than pictured on-line, and after a great nights' sleep we feasted on one of the largest and best breakfasts EVER!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apexdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived in Wilmington late in the afternoon and knocked on the door in the hope of staying. Sean welcomed us in and we had a very comfortable stay in the lovely olde Wilmington home. Our queen room was large with a smallish but tidy ensuite. All furniture was from the day and the decoration was in good condition and well done. We only stayed one night but had a comfortable stay which was finished of with a lovely huge tasty breakfast.
Tham
No you so much for sharing your lovely home with us Tricia, Bob and Sean

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

e recently stayed at the Rose Hill Inn and could not have been more pleased. From the lovely rooms to the friendly and attentive service we received, we could not have experienced a better time. The city of Wilmington is beautiful and this Inn simply adds to its charm. Bob,Tricia & Sean are caring attentive hosts who make every effort to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Wonderful food,gracious hosts,beautiful rooms,and only three blocks from the riverfront, the Rose Hill Inn is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stay at Rose hill Inn when we visit Wilmington, NC. We always find Bob,Trisha, and Sean to be gracious and helpful, and the food is scrumptious. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!!!! It is in walking distance of the riverfront shops and the restaurants downtown. It is a very relaxing place for a Wilmington vacation!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

When we arrived we were told that an incident had happened in the room that we reserved so that we would have to take a 2nd floor room. Bob and Tricia's sisters were visiting that night. Tricia's sister from Myrtle Beach was evidently given our room. We saw her go in and out of our room a number of times. Although we have a little trouble climbing stairs we were able to get back and forth to our substituted 2nd floor room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

First of all thanks to Tricia, Bob, and Sean for making our first ever stay at a B&B a memorable one. We stayed in the Wedgewood room. It was very spacious and great location on the back of the house. The bathroom had an antique claw foot tub. The shower pressure was the best!!

As for the two breakfasts, superb!! The first day we had Bob's famous pecan-banana pancakes, and Tricia's ramakins filled with grits, bacon, cheese and egg casserole (Wow that was good!!) along with bacon, country sausage, and fresh fruit. The second day we had French toast topped with fresh peaches and blueberries, little eggs with bacon, fresh fruit, and a smoked sausage.

We highly recommend this B&B...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.3 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill Inn

Property: Rosehill Inn
Address: 114 S 3rd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4556
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing