We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to leave this place!”
Review of The Verandas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Verandas
Ranked #3 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hated to leave this place!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights at The Verandas and it was superb. Chuck was a top notch host (and chef!). He is an expert about knowledge regarding Wilmington. We cannot say enough about the Verandas. Beautiful rooms, linens and a well appointed luxury bathroom. The verandas themselves were a great place to sip a glass of wine and read a book. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of the riverwalk and nice restaurants and shops. I highly recommend this! I could not believe the value - less expensive than local chain hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which was at the rear of the building - very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
196
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

While researching "Hollywood East" for an upcoming travel article on film-making in Wilmington, I spent two lovely nights at The Verandas in the Historic District. My room was spacious and well-appointed, with every amenity I needed. The huge garden tub in the bathroom was ideal for relaxing after a full day of touring Wilmington. Chuck, one of the owners, prepared a lovely cooked breakfast each day -- shirred eggs on the first day and a delicious croissant baked in an egg batter with cream cheese, mandarin oranges, and a marmalade sauce on the second day -- both meals served with sausage, juice, and coffee. Each evening I enjoyed wine or sherry and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! Chuck was the "host of hosts," willing to share information about the historic inn, local attractions, restaurants, and "Wilmywood," all the while guarding the privacy of his current and former guests, many of them associated with the film industry. I highly recommend The Verandas!.

Room Tip: All the rooms show the impeccable taste of the owners and feature antiques, comfortable beds, nice l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I spend 5 nights at The Verandas while taking a class in hat making. It really made my trip into a delightful vacation. I felt really pampered by Chuck and his staff (Dennis was away). The atmosphere was very friendly without being intrusive. There were several return visitors while I was there. It was like being at home with friends. The facilities are beautifully decorated and bright, and the rooms are quite comfortable. There is even a lovely back deck if you want to go outside to sip your wine in the evening.

The Verandas is ideally located at the edge of the historic part of town near the river, so it is not in the middle of all of the town activity where it would be noisy, but close enough to walk anywhere easily. You really don't have to use your car while you are there unless you want to drive to the ocean. Wonderful restaurants are very close by.

I have food allergies which I included in my reservation comments. Chuck contacted me right after I received my confirmation to discuss my dietary requirements, likes and dislikes. He went out of his way to have foods that I could eat and served them with great style. The breakfast served to the other guests looked absolutely wonderful and Chuck was quite willing to share recipes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

From the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure, we were made to feel at home. Our room was spacious and elegantly appointed. Our host greeted us at the door, showed us around the beautiful first floor and shared his vast knowledge of The Verandas and historic downtown Wilmington.

Although it was a full house our first night and we met some nice folks, it was never crowded. Sitting on the back veranda in the treetops, we enjoyed a glass of wine as we looked over the beautiful garden.

It is an easy walk to downtown and the riverfront. Chuck's restaurant/pub recommendations were spot on. The breakfasts he prepared were simply wonderful.

We very much enjoyed our stay and getting to know our host. We were treated like family and appreciated the hospitality shown us. It was a perfect way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mwilson0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We did not feel that this B and B lived up to its trip advisor rating. Our room was very dark and old. Bates hotel-ish. Not high quality old. The bathroom however was better. The cookies provided were a nice thought, but very stale, uneatable. If you do not make it for the 9am sitting for breakfast, you are not offered even coffee or OJ in the morning. The stairs are not good for older couples with heavy luggage. Walls are very thin. Heard the neighbors going at it when we were on the stair well. I would not recommend this as a romantic get away. Not a good value either.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank doug99las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck P, Owner at The Verandas, responded to this review, 1 week ago
This couple wanted a Friday night only rental. They were angry that we had a two night minimum on the weekends. They did not arrive for breakfast, and on the second night, they were sneaking out of the inn carrying their luggage when I caught them. They said the Inn was a dump, and that people were looking in their windows (on the third floor). I let them leave and did not charge them. Walls are not thin. Cookies are baked fresh every day. If they were so bad, why did he eat so many? Thanks for reading!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very upscale property in the historic district of Wilmington very well restored by the current owners. Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable, though the air conditioning was a noisy interrupter to perfect sleep. The breakfast was good but not exceptional, as in other properties it was served round a large table and we enjoyed the conversation with other guests. I have marked the property down a bit as I didn't find it a relaxing ambience. Chuck is obviously on edge about what you may do to his property, the stipulation about red wine only being consumed on the verandas being an example. We were told coffee was available from 7.30 in the morning but when I went down for it at 7.40, I was brusquely informed it wouldn't be ready for 10 minutes and that I should have remembered it was served in the dining room. Perhaps it was an "off" day for him but in the hospitality industry you shouldn't let that show to the guests. When you are paying the prices that Verandas charge you should feel completely at ease.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spwells2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Spent two nights here on Virginia / Carolina's trip. We arrived quite early and stopped by to see if we could leave cases and check in later. Nothing was a problem, just come in you are welcome.

The quality of finish and attention to detail is evident everywhere, lovely spotlessly clean, well appointed room. Breakfast (hosted by Chuck) was top class

Hosts Chuck and Dennis made us feel we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wighton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 44 in Wilmington
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandas

Property: The Verandas
Address: 202 Nun Street, Wilmington, NC 28401-5020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandas is a beautifully restore antebellum mansion in the heart of the Historic District. Two block walk to The Riverwalk, and 8 blocks to 70 restaurants. Located on a quiet residential street, this property is close to the commercial aspects downtown, but it is in a residential neighborhood. The Verandas has been AAA Four Diamond since 2001, and a member of the exclusive Select Registry. Our goal is to provide you the best experience we can. We would love to have you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Verandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandas Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing